Thursday, 4 January 2024

Arunjunai Kaatha Ayyanar temple / அருஞ்சுனைக்காத்த அய்யனார் திருக்கோவில் / அருஞ்சுனை காத்த அய்யனார் / Theri Kaadu (Kudiraimoli theri) / தேரிக்காடு ( குதிரைமொழிதேரி ), Mela Pudukudi / மேலப் புதுக்குடி/ Kuthiraimozhi, Thoothukudi District, Tamil Nadu.

The visit to this Sri Arunjunai Kaatha Ayyanar Temple at Mela Pudukudi, near Thoothukudi, was a part of “Temples, Heritage Sites and Archaeological Excavation Sites Visit around Thoothukudi”, between Dec 1st and 2nd December 2023. This temple is at Pudukudi, a Village inside the Therikadu, near Thiruchendur in the Thoothukudi District. 


Moolavar : Sri Ayyanar
Consorts : Sri Poorna & Puskala

Some of the salient features of this temple are...
The temple faces east with Elephants and horses in front of the temple under a mandapam. The natural temple tank / Water spring is on the right side of the temple. Moolavar Sri Ayyanar is with his consorts on both sides in a sitting posture. Utsavars are in the antarala. Nagar and Lampstand in stone are at the entrance of the Sanctum Sanctorum. Stucco images of Ayyanar, Kalasamharamoorthy, Sri Valli Devasena Subramaniar, Vinayagar, Maha Vishnu’s Vamana avatar, Rama avatar, Kannappar Purana, Amman’s various forms, are on the Parapet wall of the mandapam.

In praharam, Pechi Amman, Navagrahas, elephant, Horse, Rishabam, Sudalaimadan, Isakki Amman, Parameswari Amman, Vannichi Amman, Karuppasamy, Periyandavar, etc.



Moolavar was like this latter images are installed in the sanctum 

ARCHITECTURE
The temple consists of the sanctum sanctorum, ardha mandapam, and open mukha mandapam. The Sanctum Sanctorum was built with stone in the Gramiya style. There are no Kostas.

The praharam ceilings have stucco images of Shiva and Parvati’s Dances, Lions, Snakes, Kalinga Narthanar, 12 Rasis, etc.


Shiva and Parvati Dance, a sthala purana of Thiruvalangadu - Most difficult to make stucco sculptures on the ceiling 
Lions - The most difficult to make stucco sculptures on the ceiling 
Nagars - Most difficult to make stucco sculptures on the ceiling 
Kalinga Narthana - The most difficult to make stucco sculptures on the ceiling 

History & Inscriptions
It was said that the tree trunk was formed in the form of Ayyanar. Later, a separate temple was built, and Ayyanar, with Poorna and Pushkala images, was installed in the sanctum sanctorum.

This temple belongs to the Mela Pudukudi Gramam Ettu Pangu Nadar Community. The Daily newspaper owner, Pa Sivandhi Adhithanar, had donated to the construction of this temple. 

Jeernodharana Ashta bandhana Maha Kumbhabhishekam was performed on 26th March 1980 and 06th July 2003.




LEGENDS
As per the legend, during ancient times, this place was ruled by King Singavarman from Srivaikuntam. A lady called Kanakamani used to carry water from this natural spring of the temple. One day, while carrying the water, the water spilled on a Munivar, who was doing a dhabas. The Muni woke up from the dhabas, with anger, cursed Kanakamani that if anybody drank water from her, they would die, and further, she would die for the sin, which she had not committed. If she reveals this, she will die. Fearing the Munivar’s curse, Kanakamani begged for pardon. The Munivar said that he could not withdraw the curse; instead, he had given the boon of attaining Swargaloka after her death.

One day, Kanakamani, as usual, carried water from this spring to his home. On the way, a mango fruit had fallen into the pot, which she did not know about. King Singavarman was fond of this mango and directed his soldiers to guard the mango tree. The Soldiers are surprised that the ripe Mango, which was hanging from the tree, is missing. The soldiers searched everywhere and couldn’t find it. They were very thirsty and asked Kanakamani to give them water to drink from the pot. Remembering the Munivar’s curse, she refused to give them. The Soldiers suspected her and asked her to show the pot. When they inspected, they found the mango was in the pot. So they took her to the King, and the King, in turn, ordered her to kill her for stealing the mango. When she said that, she didn’t know how the mango came into the pot. A brave lady in the court also argued with the King that Kanakamani had not committed the crime (it is believed that the brave lady was none other than Pechchi Amman). The King didn’t accept her statement and ordered his soldiers to kill her.

Since Kanakamani was an ardent devotee of Sastha/Ayyanar, before dying, Kanakamani prayed to Sastha that he would be responsible for her death. Immediately, Sastha appeared before her and said, if she wished, he would give back her life. Kanakamani refused to get back her life, instead asking a boon that she should become the Spring, and cure the diseases of people who consumed the water after her death. Sastha granted her wish and stationed himself in this temple itself to bless his devotees along with his consorts.  

Kanakamani used to take water from this pond. 


Pechi Amman Sannidhi... Pechi Amman, who argued with the King for Kanakamani 

POOJAS AND CELEBRATIONS
Apart from regular poojas, Special poojas are conducted on pournami, Amavasya, and Panguni Uthiram Days. The people who worship Ayyanar as Kula Deivam do tonsuring, ear boring ceremony of their Children at this temple.  And special poojas are done on these days.

Devotees worship Ayyanar for Child boon, to remove marriage obstacles, to get a good job, to flourish in business, etc.



THE TEMPLE TIMINGS
The temple will be kept open between 08.00 hrs to 13.00 hrs.

CONTACT DETAILS
The Mobile number +9172999 62345 may be contacted for further details.

HOW TO REACH
This Arunjunai Katha Ayyanar Temple at Mela Pudukudi is about 2 km from Ammanpuram, which is about 45 km from Tirunelveli to Thiruchendur Road.

On the way to Thiruchendur from Tirunelveli, get down at Ammanpuram, and there are Autos available to reach the temple.

The temple is about 14 km from Thiruchendur,  38.2 km from Thoothukudi, and 45 km from Tirunelveli.
The nearest Railway station is Thiruchendur.   

LOCATION OF THE TEMPLE: CLICK HERE








Naga devathai
--- OM SHIVAYA NAMA ---

Wednesday, 3 January 2024

Bojeeshwarar Swamy Temple/ Samayapuram Bojeswarar Temple /சமயபுரம் போஜீஸ்வரர் கோயில் / போஜீஷ்வரர் சுவாமி கோவில், Samayapuram / சமயபுரம்/ Kannanur / Kannapuram, Tiruchirappalli District, Tamil Nadu.

The visit to this Sri Bojeswarar Swamy Temple at Samayapuram, near Trichy, was a part of “Temples, Heritage Sites and Archaeological Excavation Sites Visit around Thoothukudi”, between Dec 1st and 2nd December, 2023. On the way to Thoothukudi visited this Hoysala period Shiva temple. 


Moolavar  : Sri Bojeeshwarar Swamy
Consort    : Sri Anandavalli

Some of the salient features of this temple are...
The temple faces east with a mottai gopuram. Balipeedam and Rishabam are in front of the temple. Dwarapalakas are at the entrance of the sanctum sanctorum. Vinayagar and Murugan are at the entrance of the ardha mandapam. Moolavar is of 16 flat surfaces, Dhara Lingam (Sodasha Lingam) on a round avudayar. In the kostam, Vinayagar, Dakshinamurthy, Lingothbavar, Durgai, and Brahma (the positions of Durgai and Brahma are interchanged). Bairavar and Suriyan are in the maha mandapam.

In the praharam, Sri Vinayagar, Sri Valli Devasena Subramaniar, Chandikeswarar, Navagrahas, Nagars, and Amirta Mrityunjay Eswarar (Sivan).

Ambal is in a separate sannidhi facing south in the maha mandapam. Ambal is in a standing posture with abhaya varada hastam.

ARCHITECTURE
The temple is built like a mada temple on a raised upanam. The temple consists of the sanctum sanctorum, antarala, ardha mandapam, maha mandapam, and a sobhana mandapam. The Sobhana Mandapam can be accessed from the South and north directions.

The sanctum sanctorum is on a kapota bandha adhistanam with jagathy, vrutha kumudam, and kapotam. The bhitti starts with the vedika. The pilasters are Vishnu kantha pilasters with a square base, Naga bandham, malai thongal, thamarai kattu, kalasam, kudam, mandi palakai, and poo mottu pothyal. The koshtas and aharai / saleelantharam are inside compared to salaipathi and karnapathi.

The prastaram consists of valapi, kapotam with nasi kudus and viyyalavari. Lotus petals are in the valapi. A two-tier brick Vesara vimanam is on the Bhumidesam. Shiva, Dakshinamurthy, Maha Vishnu with Maha Lakshmi, and Brahma with Saraswati are in the (first) tala and greeva kostam. 





HISTORY AND INSCRIPTIONS
As per the Display board at the temple, the original temple was built by the Hoysala Kings during the 13th Century (1253 CE). Shiva was called Bosaleeswaramudayar. During the 13th century, the Hoysala King Narasimha II chased away the enemies in favor of the Chozhas. His son Veera Someswaran ruled this area, keeping Kannanur (now called Samayapuram) as the Capital in 1253 CE, and called this place Vikramapuram. He was also called Chandran of Karnataka. To commemorate the Victory, he had made some gifts to this temple on the solar eclipse day (01.03.1253). A Cheppedu mentioning his gifts to this temple is available at the Bengaluru Museum.

Inscriptions at Thiruvanaikaval and Srirangam record his gifts to the temples. He built this Poisavesucharam at Kannanur. At Thiruvanaikaval built a temple/sannidhis in memory of his Grandfather, Grandmother, Father, and wife. The places Veera Someswaram near Srirangam and Someswaranpettai near Trichy Vayalur are named after him. Now they are called Veerasomeswaram and Somarasanpettai.

The Chozha king Rajathiraja (?)'s inscription records that the land and village Panamangalam given as thevadhanam to the Thanathars can be continued and enjoyed from the 17th year. The tax collected is to be utilised as capital for the poojas and Thirupani. Then, from the 17th year, the thanathar has to be handed over to Irudi Nayakar Kuthiraimaran. The amount collected till the 19th year amounts to Nurayirathu irupaththaiyaayiram, and a receipt was also given by the dhanathar.

An incomplete inscription Ā[na]nda, 17th, Ādi = 1374 CE, on the south wall of the central shrine records a gift of money by Põlucheţţi, a kavarai-chetti of Kanchipuram, for building certain parts of the temple.

The Pandya king Konerimai Kondan’s 3rd reign year, 13th century inscription, on the south wall of the central shrine is found mutilated. The inscription records that the king granted the village of Vangāram in Pachchil-kuruvațtam as tax-free dēvadāna to the temple of Pōsalīsuramudaiya-Nāyanār at Kaņņanür for celebrating a festival called Ranamukharāman-[Sandhi] instituted in his name.

The Vijayanagara Krishnadēva-Mahārāya, Śaka 1439, Iśvara- 1517 CE, inscription, on the right of the entrance of the gõpurā is a general order of the king remitting the taxes chodi (jōdi), sūlavari, arasupēru, etc. on the dēvadāna villages of all Śiva and Vishņu temples (mentioned by their names) in Chōla-mandalam for worship and renovation of those temples. After his expedition against the Gajapati king, he is said to have made the grant which amounted to a total sum of 10,000 pon.

Ref: 
1. Display board at The Temple
2. South Indian Inscriptions Volume - IV 
3. South Indian Inscriptions Volume - XLI

The original temple may have been reconstructed during the Vijayanagara Nayaks/19th to 20th centuries. We may notice that the pilasters are without continuity, and the stones used in the reconstruction of the Mandapas are misplaced. 

Maha Kumbhabhishekam was conducted on 06.09.62 and 05.03.2017 after attending the thirupani/renovations.





POOJAS AND CELEBRATIONS
Apart from 3 times regular poojas (08.00 hrs, 12.00 hrs, and 18.00 hrs) and abhishekam (07.30 hrs), special poojas are conducted on Pradosham, Karthigai Deepam, Maha Shivaratri, Vinayagar Chaturthi, etc.

TEMPLE TIMINGS
The temple will be kept open from 06.00 hrs to 12.00 hrs and from 16.00 hrs to 19.00 hrs.

CONTACT DETAILS
The archagar Vaithy Gurukkal may be contacted on his mobile number +919865331516 for further details.

HOW TO REACH
The temple is about 300 meters from the Trichy – Tindivanam Highway, 11 km from Srirangam, 21 km from Trichy, 41 km from Perambalur, and 314 km from Chennai.
The nearest Railway Station is Srirangam/Pichandarkovil.

LOCATION OF THE TEMPLE: CLICK HERE












--- OM SHIVAYA NAMA ---

Monday, 1 January 2024

Sri Vedhapureeswarar / Sri Vedapureeswarar Temple also known as Odheeswarar Temple / அருள்மிகு ஓதீஸ்வரர் திருக்கோவில், மடிப்பாக்கம், Balaiah Garden, Madipakkam, Chennai, Tamil Nadu.

This visit to the Sri Vedapureeswarar Temple at Madipakkam was a part of the Shiva and Amman Temples in Chromepet, Old Pallavaram, and Madipakkam visit on 20th November 2022. This is an ancient temple about 1000 years old, on the banks of Madipakkam Eri, which was reconstructed during the 90s. Once a big temple, now it is squeezed between a Road and residential flats.


Moolavar  : Sri Vedapureeswarar / Odheeswarar
Consort    : Sri Vedapureeswari

Some of the salient features of this temple are….
The temple faces east and has a 3-tier Rajagopuram. Stucco mini Gopuras are on the parapet wall of the temple mandapam/compound wall. Kampathadi Vinayagar, A Short Dwajasthambam, balipeedam, and Rishabam are in front of the sanctum sanctorum. Vinayagar,  Murugan and Dwarapalakas are at the entrance of the sanctum sanctorum. Moolavar is at an elevated level. In koshtam Dakshinamurthy, Maha Vishnu, Brahma and Durgai.

Ambal is in a separate sannidhi facing south. In praharam, Chandikeswarar, Vinayagar, Sri Valli Devasena Subramaniyar, Gajalakshmi, Nagars under the sthala vruksham and Navagrahas.

ARCHITECTURE
The temple was built in a small space with a narrow entrance. The temple consists of the sanctum sanctorum, ardha mandapam, and a combined maha mandapam  cum praharam.

A two-tier nagara vimanam is over the sanctum sanctorum. Dakshinamurthy, Maha Vishnu, and Brahma are on the vimanam koshtam. A mandapam was built around the sanctum of Shiva and Ambal. The dwajasthambam is very short to match the ceiling of the mandapam.


HISTORY AND INSCRIPTIONS
As per the history, the temple is more than 1000 years old. During the 90s, Sri Maha Periyava, while passing through this place, happened to see this Shiva Lingam with Rishabam under the sthala Vruksham, who told the locals that this temple was 1000 years old and advised them to rebuild the temple. The sthala vrukshas are Peepal, Neem, and Bilva trees joined together. As advised by Maha Periyava, when the temple reconstruction was started, the money was pouring in. Maha Kumbhabhishekam was conducted after completion.

As requested by Sri Jayaprakash, a Senior of Canara Bank and a Trustee of this temple, Annamalaiyar Arapani Kuzhu did the Uzhavaram on 25th August 2013.

LEGENDS
It is believed that the cursing of Ambal to become a Cow, Shiva came to this temple and taught the Vedas to Devas, and Maharishis to get rid of the sin, hence Shiva is called Vedapureeswarar.

In another legend, the Vedas, Devas, and Agasthiyar worshipped Shiva of this temple. Hence, Shiva is called Vedapureeswarar.

POOJAS AND CELEBRATIONS
Apart from regular poojas, special poojas are conducted on Pournami, Amavasya, Pradosham, Maha Shivaratri, Sankatahara Chaturthi, etc.

TEMPLE TIMINGS
The temple will be kept open from 07.00 hrs to 11.00 hrs, and from 17.00 hrs to 20.00 hrs.

CONTACT DETAILS

HOW TO REACH
The temple in Madipakkam is on the south side of Madipakkam Lake. 

The temple is about 100 meters from Madipakkam Bus Stand, 4.1 km from St. Thomas Mount Suburban Railway Station, 8.9 km from Chromepet Railway Station, and 21 km from Chennai Central Railway Station.
The nearest Railway Station is St Thomas Mount Sub-Urban Railway Station.

LOCATION OF THE TEMPLE: CLICK HERE



--- OM SHIVAYA NAMA ---