Showing posts with label Chozha Nadu. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Chozha Nadu. Show all posts

Wednesday, 13 March 2024

Oppiliappan Temple / Sri Oppiliappa Perumal Temple / Thiruvinnagar / Arulmigu Venkatachalapathy Thirukoil / உப்பிலியப்பன் கோயில், திருநாகேஸ்வரம் / Thirunageswaram, Thanjavur District, Tamil Nadu.

This Oppiliappan Perumal Temple, also called Thiruvinnagar at Thirunageswaram, is the 15th Divya Desam of 108 Diva Desams and 13th Divya Desam of Chozha Nadu. Also, this is one of the Pancha Kshetras, where Maha Lakshmi was born as Bhargavi. The 5 kshetras are, Sarangapani Temple, Kumbakonam, the Sundararaja Perumal Temple, Salem, the Nachiyar Koil, and Venkateswara Temple, Tirumala. This place was called Agasa Nagaram, Vaikunta Nagaram, Thiruvinnagar, Oppiliappan Sannidhi, and Uppiliappan Sannidhi during ancient times. Moolavar is also called Venkatachalapathy, Thiruvinnagarappan, Thanoppiliappan, Uppiliappan Srinivasan, etc.


Mangalasasanam was done by Peyalwar (2342 & 2343), Thirumangai Alwar (1448-77, 1855, 2080, 2673 (72), 2674 (113) and Nammalwar (3365-77). Nammazhwar mentions the Moolavar of this temple as Ponnappan, Maniappan, Muttappan, Ennappan, and Tiruvinnagarappan. 

2342
பண்டெல்லாம் வேங்கடம் பாற்கடல் வைகுந்தம்,
கொண்டங் குறைவார்க்குக் கோயில்போல், - வண்டு
வளங்கிளரும் நீள்சோலை வண்பூங் கடிகை,
 இளங்குமரன் றன்விண் ணகர்.
….. பேயாழ்வார்
1477
தாரார் மலர்க்கமலத் தடஞ்சூழ்ந்த தண்புறவில்,
சீரார் நெடுமறுகில் திருவிண் ணகரானை
காரார் புயல்தடக்கைக் கலிய னொலிமாலை,
ஆரா ரிவைவல்லார் அவர்க்கல்லல் நில்லாவே
…… திருமங்கை ஆழ்வார்
3365
நல்குரவும் செல்வும் நரகும் சுவர்க்கமுமாய்,
வெல்பகையும் நட்பும் விடமும் அமுதமுமாய்,
பல்வகையும் பரந்தபெரு மானென்னை யாள்வானை,
செல்வம்மல்கு குடித்திரு விண்ணகர்க் கண்டேனே. 
…… நம்மாழ்வார்

Moolavar  : Sri Oppiliappa Perumal / Sri Uppiliappan
Thayar     : Sri Bhumi Devi / Bhoomidevi Thayar
Utsavar    : Than Oppiliappan

Some of the salient features of this temple are ….
The temple faces east with a 5-tier Rajagopuram. Balipeedam, dwajasthambam, and Garudan are after the Rajagopuram under a mandapam. Dwarapalakas are at the entrance of the maha mandapam.

Moolavar is in a standing posture with shankha and chakra in the upper hands, and the lower right hand is in varada hastam, and the left hand is in kadi hastam, similar to Tirupati Sri Venkatesa Perumal. Sridevi and Bhudevi are in the sanctum sanctorum. No images are in the kostas.

Desikar is in the ardha mandapam. Maha Vishnu’s various avatars, Alwars, sthala purana, and Purana are in the form of paintings around the praharam wall.

In praharam, Sri Maniappan Sannidhi, Ennappan Sannidhi, Thulabaram, Ramar with Sita and Lakshmana, Sannidhi, Anjaneyar, Ramanuja, Alwars, Garudan Sannidhi, Krishna, and Ramanuja.

Vahanas Garudan, Hanuman, Kuthirai / Horse Vahana, Hamsa Vahana, Kamala Vahana, Sesha vahana, and Elephant Vahana are in the praharam.



ARCHITECTURE
The temple consists of the sanctum sanctorum, antarala, ardha mandapam, and maha mandapam. The sanctum sanctorum is on a padma bandha adhistanam on an upana. The adhistanam is with padma jagathy, kadaka / Silambu kumudam, pattikai. The Bhitti starts with vedika. The pilasters are Brahma kantha pilasters with square bases, kalasam, kudam, lotus petals mandi, palakai, and pushpa pothyal. The prastaram consists of valapi and kapotam with nasi kudus. The sanctum sanctorum was built with stone from the upanam to the prastaram. A two-tier brick vimanam is above the prastaram. Maha Vishnu’s various forms are on the tala and greeva koshtam. The sigaram is of the vesara style. The vimanam is called "Sudhdhanandha Vimanam" (Vishnu Vimanam).





HISTORY AND INSCRIPTIONS
The original temple belongs to the 08th Century, maybe be Pallava period, and the same was reconstructed during the Chozha period. The temple also received contributions from Vijayanagaras, Thanjavur Nayakas, and Marathas. Two Chozha-period inscriptions are recorded from this temple.

The inscriptions recorded in ARE 211 & 218 of 1911 are actually inscribed at Thirunageswaram Shiva Temple and mention this Maha Vishnu Temple- Thiruvinnagaram. 

The inscription in ARE 211 of 1911 on the northern wall of the Sanctum Sanctorum belongs to the Chozha King Parakesarivarman, Rajendra Chozha-I (1042 – 44 CE), and records the  gift of a gold jewel studded with gems and pearls to the temple.   

The second inscription in ARE 218 of 1911 belongs to Chola king Rajaraja Rajakesari Varman I’s 14th reign year, on the Sanctum sanctorum’s southern wall. The inscription records a gift of land to the temple.

The tradition in many ancient temples in Tamil Nadu, including this one, is that the original image of the presiding deity was made of wood and replaced later with stone. Similarly, the moolavar was also replaced.

There were a lot of additions like mandapas, built in the temple by Govinda Dikshitar, the minister of successive Nayak rulers, Achuthappa Nayak (1560–1614) and Raghunatha Nayak (1600–34).

This Arulmigu Venkatachalapathy Thirukoil, also called Oppiliappan Koil maha Samprokshanam, was performed on 8th February 2009 at Rs. 12 Crores (12 Crores .. ?).

Kodimara Yantra Prathista was done on 26th April 2023, and Preparation for Maha Samprokshanam, ie, palalayam, was conducted on 05th June 2023, and Maha Samprokshanam was performed on 29th June 2023.

Ref:
Annual Report on Epigraphy 1911.
The inscriptions on the wall.

LEGENDS
As per the legend, Bhudevi was reborn as the daughter of Markandeya Maharishi. As decided already, Maha Vishnu came to the ashram in the form of an old man and told that he would marry his daughter. Markandeya Maharishi does not want his daughter to get married to an old man. To reject the old man, Maharishi said that his daughter is not well versed in household duties, and also she will even forget to add salt to the food while preparing. Maha Vishnu revealed Himself and married Bhudevi. Hence, the prasadam offered to Moolavar, Maha Vishnu, will be without salt. Hence, Moolavar is called as Uppiliappan, ie, Uppillatha appan – உப்பில்லாத அப்பன்.

As per another legend, Garudan, Kaveri, Markandeya Muni, and Nammalwar worshipped Sri Oppiliappan of this temple.

During the festival, Perumal and Thayar are taken in procession outside the temple, which is a unique procedure of this temple.

POOJAS AND CELEBRATIONS
Apart from regular poojas as per the Vaikhanasa agama of Vadakalai,  special poojas are conducted on the Annual Brahmotsavam with chariot procession in the months Panguni and Puratasi, Dolotsavam, 6 days Vasanthotsavam in the month Vaikasi, 5 days Pavithrotsavam in the month Avani, Nine days Brahmotsavam in the month Purattasi, From Sravana Nakshatra day 12 days Thirukalyana Utsavam in the month Aippasi, Rama Navami, Sravana Nakshatra days of every month, Vaikunta Ekadasi, etc.


Golden chariot procession

TEMPLE TIMINGS
The temple will be kept open from 06.00 hrs and 13.00 hrs, and from 16.00 hrs to 21.00 hrs.

CONTACT DETAILS
The temple’s landline number, +91 435 2463385, may be contacted for further details.

HOW TO REACH
Thirunageswaram is about 5 km from Kumbakonam, 6 km from Nachiarkoil, 41 km from Thiruvaiyaru, and 51 km from Thanjavur.
The nearest Railway Station is Kumbakonam.

LOCATION OF THE TEMPLE: CLICK HERE




Theppam - used during Theppa Thiruvizha





Ennappan Temple
Ennappan







The visit to this temple was a part of the "Divya Desam Temples Visit" near Thanjavur and Kumbakonam, organized by Culture Circuit.  Thanks to Mr. Balakumaran G S.
--- OM SHIVAYA NAMA ---

Tuesday, 12 March 2024

Sri Jagannatha Perumal Temple / Arulmigu Jagannatha Perumal Koil, Thirunandhipura Vinnagaram / நந்திபுர விண்ணகரம், நாதன் கோயில் / Nathan Kovil, Thanjavur District, Tamil Nadu.

This Sri Jagannatha Perumal Temple, also known as Thiru Nandipura Vinnagaram at Nathan Kovil, is the 21st Divya Desam of 108 Divya Desams and the 16th Divya Desam of Chozha Nadu. This place is also called Dakshina Jagannatham. 



Mangalasasanam was done by Thirumangai Azhwar (1438-47), in the Nalayira Divya Prabandham.

1438
தீதறுநி லத்தொடெரி காலினொடு நீர்க்கெழுவி சும்பு மவையாய்,
மாசறும னத்தினொடு றக்கமொடி றக்கையவை யாய பெருமான்,
தாய்செறவு ளைந்துதயி ருண்டுகுட மாடுதட மார்வர் தகைசேர்,
நாதனுறை கின்றநகர் நந்திபுர விண்ணகரம் நண்ணு மனமே

1447
நறைசெய் பொழில் மழைதவழும் நந்திபுர விண்ணகரம்நண்ணி யுறையும்,
உறைகொள்புக ராழிசுரி சங்கமவை யங்கையுடை யானை,
ஒளிசேர் கறைவளரும் வேல்வல்ல கலியனொலி மாலையிவை யைந்து மைந்தும்,
முறையிலவை பயிலவல அடியவர்கள் கொடுவினைகள் முழுத கலுமே
….. திருமங்கை ஆழ்வார்

Moolavar  : Sri Srinivasan
Utsavar    : Nandhinathar, Sri Jagannatha Perumal,  
                  Sri Vinnagara Perumal, Rakshaka Jaganathan
Thayar     : Sri Shenbagavalli

Some of the salient features of this temple are ….
Moolavar faces west with a 4-tier Rajagopuram. Balipeedam Dwajasthambam and Garudan are after the Rajagopuram. The second level, Rajagopuram, is of two tiers. Dwarapalakas are at the entrance of the ardha mandapam. Moolavar Jagannatha Perumal is with Sridevi and Bhudevi in a sitting posture, holding shankha and Chakra in the upper hand; the lower right hand is in abhaya hastam, and the left hand is in ahvana hastham (calling his devotees), and Brahma is also in the sanctum sanctorum. Utsavars are in front of Moolavar. No murtis are in the kostam. Nandi Devar – a bas-relief (in human form), in a worshipping posture, is on the right side wall, and Brahma is on the left side wall of the sanctum sanctorum (inside).



Thayar Shenbagavalli is in a sitting posture in a separate sannidhi facing east with abhaya varada hastam.

In mandapam Andal, Alwars, and Anjaneyar, the Nayaka king Vijayaranga Chokkappa Nayaka is with his two wives.   

Nayaka King Vijayaranga Chokkappa Nayaka with his two wives

ARCHITECTURE
The temple consists of the sanctum sanctorum, antarala, ardha mandapam, and an open mukha mandapam. The sanctum sanctorum is on a kapota bandha upanam and pada bandha adhistanam with jagathy, muppattai kumudam, and pattika. The bhitti starts with vedika. Vishnu kantha pilasters have a square base & Naga bandham, kalasam, kudam, lotus petals mandi, palakai, and Pushpa pothyal. The prastaram consists of valapi and kapotam with nasi kudus. The sanctum sanctorum was built with stone from adhistanam to prastaram. The vimanam above the prastaram is built with bricks of a single tala. Maha Vishnu’s various forms are in tala and greeva kostams. The sigaram is of Dravida style. The vimanam is called "Mandaara Vimanam".

The front mandapam was built during the Nayaka period.







HISTORY AND INSCRIPTIONS
The original temple belongs to the 08th century (736 – 796 CE), Pallava King Nandivarman-II’s period, and the same was reconstructed during the Chozha period and received contributions from Vijayanagaras, Thanjavur Nayakas, Vijayaranga Chokkappa Nayaka, and Marathas.

The inscription records the contributions of Sundara Chozha. The temple is also called Sundara Chozha Vinnagaram (..? to be verified). It was told that Aniruddha Brahmarayar (Sundara Chola’s minister) lived in this Village, Sundara Chozha Vinnagaram, now called Nathan Kovil

The temple is under the control of Vanamamalai Madam.

ந்த தமிழ் பகுதி திரு இராமச்சந்திரன் குருசுவாமி, (இந்திய அரசு தொல்லியல் துறை (பநி) அவர்களின் பின்னூட்டம், அடியேனின் நந்திநாத பெருமாள் கோயில் முகநூல் பதிவிற்கு… வாசகர்களின் பார்வைக்கு…

இதன் அருகில் தான் நாதன் கோயில் என்ற நந்திபுர விண்ணகரம் உள்ளது. நந்தி புரம் இரண்டாம் நந்திவர்மனால் உருவாக்கப் பட்டது. திருமங்கையாழ்வார் இரண்டாம் நந்திவர்மன் அவன் மகன் தந்திவர்மன் சமகாலத்தவர். காஞ்சிபுரம் வைகுண்ட பெருமாள் கோயில் திருவல்லிக்கேணி பார்த்தசாரதி கோயில் திருப்பணி செய்தவன். அவனுக்கு வைரமேகம் என்ற பெயரும் உண்டு.‌ அவனைத் திருமங்கையாழ்வார் புகழ்ந்து வைகுண்ட நாதர் திருவல்லிக்கேணி நாதன் கோயில் மங்களாசாசனம் செய்துள்ளார்.‌ திருக்கண்டியூர் திருக் கண்ணமங்கை சிதம்பரம் திருநின்றவூர் குடந்தை கீழ்க்கோட்டம் போல் ஒரு நிகழ்ச்சி சைவ வைணவ நாயன்மார்களால் ஆழ்வார்களால் பாடல் பெறப் பட்டுள்ளது. குடந்தை நாகேசுவரர் சூரியன் ஜலந்தராசுரானால் ஒலி மழுங்கி சிவபிரானைத் தொழுது சிறப்பு பெற்றது.‌குடந்தை சக்கரபாணி சூரியனை மறைத்த ஜலந்தாசுரனைத் திருமால் தன் படைக்கலம் சுதர்சன சக்கரத்தில் ஆவிர்பத்து ஜலந்தராசுரனை அழித்து மீட்டதாக ஸ்தல புராணம் கூறுகிறது. மேற்கொறுக்கை நந்தி புரம் பழையாறை இன்னும் ஆய்வு செய்ய வேண்டியுள்ளது

LEGENDS
As per the legend, Nandi performed penance at this place to seek the pardon and blessings of Maha Vishnu for the sin of insulting the Dwarapalakas at Vaikuntam. As advised by Shiva, Nandi did penance of Maha Vishnu in this Shenbagavanam. Satisfied with Nandi’s penance, Maha Vishnu pardoned Nandi and blessed him. Hence Thirumangai Azhwar calls this place “Nandi pani seitha nagar- நந்தி பணி செய்த நகர்”, in 10th Thirumozhi, of Nalayira Divya Prabandham.

1444: (5-10-7)
தந்தை மனம் உந்து துயர் நந்த இருள் வந்த விறல் நந்தன் மதலை
எந்தை இவன் என்று அமரர் கந்த மலர் கொண்டு தொழ நின்ற நகர் தான்
மந்த முழவு ஓசை மழை ஆக எழு கார்  மயில்கள் ஆடு பொழில் சூழ்  
நந்தி பணி செய்த நகர் நந்திபுர விண்ணகரம் நண்ணு மனமே!

Thayar Shenbagavalli also did penance at this Shenbagaranyam to get a place on the chest of Maha Vishnu. Maha Vishnu gave darshan on Aippasi Month Valarpirai Ashtami day / Friday and gave her the place on his Chest. Hence, special poojas are on Aippasi month Fridays. Since Maha Vishnu is a Nathan for Maha Lakshmi and Jagam ( universe ), this place is called Nathan Kovil.   

In another legend, Moolavar was originally facing east and turned to the west to see Sibi Chakravarthy sacrificing his life to save the life of a pigeon.

It is believed that the obstacles in marriages will be removed and a child boon will be granted to those who worship Thayar of the temple.

This temple is also one of the Chandra dosha parihara sthalam.

POOJAS AND CELEBRATIONS
Apart from regular poojas (Thenkalai), special poojas are conducted on Vaikunta Ekadasi, Pavithrotsavam in the month Aani, and Akshaya Tritiya. Special abhishekams will be done to Thayar on Aippasi month Fridays.

Kinnarar

TEMPLE TIMINGS
The temple will be kept open from 08.00 hrs to 12.00 hrs, and from 16.30 hrs to 20.00 hrs.

CONTACT DETAILS
The landline numbers +91 435 241 7575 and mobile numbers +9198430 95904 & +9194437 71400 may be contacted for further details.

HOW TO REACH
This Place of worship is about 4 km from Patteeswaram, 6.00 km from Kumbakonam, 9 km from Nachiarkoil, 12 km from Papanasam,  and 39 km from Thanjavur.
The nearest Railway Station is Kumbakonam.

LOCATION OF THE TEMPLE: CLICK HERE








The Visit to this temple was a part of the Divya Desam Temples Visit, near Thanjavur and Kumbakonam, organized by Culture Circuit.  Thanks to Mr Balakumaran. 
--- OM SHIVAYA NAMA ---

Monday, 11 March 2024

Arulmigu Sri Valvil Ramar Perumal Temple / அருள்மிகு வல்வில்ராமன் திருக்கோயில், Thirupullabhoothangudi Temple / Thiruppullambhootangudi, Thanjavur District, Tamil Nadu.

This Sri Valvil Ramar Perumal Temple at Thiruppullambhootangudi is the 18th Divya Desam temple of the 108 Divya Desams and the 10th Divya Desam of Chozha Nadu. This place is between the Kollidam and Kaveri Rivers. This place was called Bhudapuri during ancient times.


Mangalasasanam of this temple was done by Thirumangai Alwar in Nalayira Divya Prabandham (1348- 57).

1348
அறிவ தரியா னனைத்துலகும் உடையா னென்னை யாளுடையான்
குறிய மாணி யுருவாய கூத்தன் மன்னி யமருமிடம்,
நறிய மலர்மேல் சுரும்பார்க்க எழிலார் மஞ்ஞை நடமாட,
பொறிகொள் சிறைவண் டிசைபாடும் புள்ளம் பூதங் குடிதானே
…. திருமங்கை ஆழ்வார்

Moolavar  : Sri Valvil Ramar
Thayar     : Sri Hemambhujavalli, Sri Potramaraiyal

Some of the salient features of this temple are ….
The temple faces east with a 5-tier Rajagopuram, and the temple tank is on the north side of the temple. Balipeedam, dwajasthambam, and Garudan are after the 2nd-level rajagopuram. Moolavar Rama is in the reclining posture / Sayana kolam, called Bhujanga Sayanam. Utsavar Ramar is with Sridevi and Bhudevi. Ramar has 4 hands. The Sankha and Chakra are in the upper hands. Jatayu, Hanuman, and Lakshmana are near the feet of Moolavar. One of the deva koshta has the image of Thumbikai Alwar / Vinayagar, and the rest are empty.  

Thayar Sri Hemambhujavalli/Sri Potramaraiyal (Bhoomadevi ), who accompanied Ramar in performing the last rites to Jatayu, is in a separate sannidhi facing East. Thayar is in a sitting posture with abhaya varada hastam.

Alwars, Narasimhar are in the maha mandapam. In praharam, Yoga Narasimhar, also called Uthyoka Narasimhar, is with 4 hands holding Shankha and Chakra in the upper hands and lower hands on the knees in yoga mudra, and legs are crossed like Swastik asana.




ARCHITECTURE
The temple consists of the sanctum sanctorum, antarala, ardha mandapam, and maha mandapam. The sanctum sanctorum is rectangular in shape to accommodate Moolavar's reclining posture. The sanctum sanctorum is ona pada bandha adhistanam with jagathy, vrudha kumudam, and pattikai. The bhitti starts with vedika. The pilasters are Vishnu kantha pilasters with kalasam, kudam, lotus petals mandi, palakai, and Pushpa pothyal. The prastaram consists of valapi and kapotam with nasi kudus. The vimanam above the prastaram is of salakara vimanam (eka tala). The Vimanam is called "Sobana Vimanam". Maha Vishnu’s various forms are on the tala and greeva koshtams.







HISTORY AND INSCRIPTIONS
The original temple belongs to the 07th to 9th Century, Pallava Period, and the same was reconstructed during the Chozha period and received contributions from Vijayanagaras / Thanjavur Nayakas and Marathas. 13th to 14th-century fragments of Chozha-period inscriptions are found on the side of the entrance and Temple walls.

The Pandya King Maravarman Kulasekaran-II’s 24th reign year (1348 CE)  incomplete inscription records a gift deed by the sale of land as thiruvidaiyattam by the Villagers (Uravar) of Pavitrimangalam in the middle portion  (naduvoikuru) of Milalaikkutram to the temple of Valvilaramapperumal at Pullabutankudi in the name of Sri Senapati Alwar (Vishwaksena), the deity who is supposed to keep the accounts of Vishnu Temple.

Vijayanagara King Kattarai Saluva Thirumalairaya Maharaja’s reign (15th Century) damaged inscription on the 1st praharam (south side of Rajagopuram) records the Tax items like Vasaalilvattanai, Sulavari, Irayasavattanai, etc, were to be utilized for the various expenses to be met by the Pullabutankudi temple.

Rajathirajan-II’s 14th reign year (1160 CE) inscription on the 1st praharam entrance south side entrance column (Nilaikal) doesn't seem to belong to this temple. It provides the information that one Kandiyur Palaciriyan (Balasraya..?) Tiruviratta Namudaiyan Tiruvakatticuramudaiyan, alias Rajasraya Brammadarajan, made arrangements for burning one perpetual lamp at Sipirantaka icuram at Silacintamani Nallur, hamlet of Chitrantaka (or Chitrankata) Chaturvedi Mangalam. It is further informed that he consecrated the image of Aludaiya Pillaiyar (Thirugnanasambandar) in this temple.

Kulothunga Chozha-III’s 35th reign year (1213 CE) inscription on the 1st praharam entrance north side column (Nilaikal) doesn’t seem to belong to this temple. It records some gifts to a Siva temple by the name "Tirubhuvana Viraiswaram", named after Kulothunga III.
 
Rajarajan-III’s 13th reign year (1227 CE) inscription on a separate stone in the 1st praharam doesn't seem to belong to this temple. This inscription of Kulottunga Cola-III belongs to Agaram Chitrankataccaturvedi Mangalam in Tirunaraiyurnadu in Tirubhuvana Kulottunga Chozhavalanadu. It seems to record a decision taken at the meeting of the Mahasabhaiyar of the said Caturvedimangalam, convened at the assembly hall called Tiribhuvanaviricuram Udiyar Tirukkudam. Inscriptions No. 3, 4, and 5 of this village seem to belong to some other temple

Ref:
Papanasam vattakkalvettukkal Volume – I.

As per the inscription on the wall, Moolavar Vigraham was replaced, along with maintenance jobs carried out. Maha Samprokshanam was conducted on 09th February 1970 with Devotees' fund, by the guidance of Sri Ahobila mutt 44th pattam Srimath Vedamarkethyathi Bruthalangkirutha Sri Vansadakoba Sri Vedanta Desika Yathindra Maha Desikan.

An inverter was installed at Rs 35000 by Divya Desa Kainkarya Trust, Medavakkam, Chennai, and sponsored by K V Narasimhan Subhashini Narasimhan of Nanganallur, Chennai, on 30th December 2007, in connection with Ahobila Mutt 45th pattam Srimad Azhagiya Singar’s Sathabhishekam Mahotsavam. 

Chozha period inscription



LEGENDS
As per the legend, Sri Ramar took a rest after giving moksha / performing the last rites to Jadayu, who was killed by Ravana while abducting Sita. In place of Sita, Bhoomadevi accompanied Rama to carry out the last rites for Jatayu. Since Sita was abducted by Ravana, Sita is not in the sanctum sanctorum.  

It is believed that Thirumangai Alwar came to this temple without noticing the actual deity of the temple. Suddenly, a bright light appeared with the image of Ramar with the shankha and the Chakra. He realized his mistake and sang hymns in praise of Rama of this temple.
 
POOJAS AND CELEBRATIONS
Apart from regular poojas, special poojas are done on Rama Navami, Krishna Jayanthi, Vaikunta Ekadasi, and annual Brahmotsavam in the month of Panguni.



TEMPLE TIMINGS
The temple will be kept open from 07.30 hrs to 12.00 hrs, and from 16.30 hrs to 19.30 hrs.

CONTACT DETAILS
The mobile number Gopal Bhattar +919443525365 may be contacted for further details.

HOW TO REACH
This temple is about 1 km from Adhanur, 10 km from Kabisthalam, 15 km from Kumbakonam, 27 km from Thiruvaiyaru, and 35 km from Thanjavur.
The nearest Railway Station is Kumbakonam.

LOCATION OF THE TEMPLE: CLICK HERE









The Visit to this temple was a part of the Divya Desam Temples Visit, near Thanjavur and Kumbakonam, organized by Culture Circuit.  Thanks to Mr Balakumaran. 
--- OM SHIVAYA NAMA ---