Showing posts with label Christianism. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Christianism. Show all posts

Monday, 18 May 2026

Sacred Heart Basilica/ இயேசுவின் திரு இருதயப் பேராலயம், near Railway Station, MG Road Area, புதுச்சேரி/ Puducherry (A Union Territory).

The visit to this Sacred Heart Basilica, at Puducherry, was a part of “Shiva and Maha Vishnu Temple of Puducherry Visit” on 07th March 2026.


ARCHITECTURE
This Historical BASILICA is 50 mts. long, 48 mts. wide and 18 mts. high, with Latin rite cross shape aerial view in Gothic style. 24 main columns hold the structure, in which we see the biblical word at the entrance written in Latin," I have consecrated this house that my name may be there forever. My eyes and my heart will be there forever", which reveals the presence of the Sacred Heart of our Lord Jesus Christ. Also, the Sacred Hearts of Jesus and Mother Mary carved at the entrance door welcome us. Inside the Church, we can see Glass pictures of 28 saints who were related to the devotion to the Sacred Heart of Jesus.









THE HISTORY OF THIS BASILICA
In the year 1895, the then Archbishop Mgr. Gandhi wished to build a new church in devotion to the Sacred Heart of Jesus. Rev. Fr. Telesphore Welter, the Parish Priest of Nellithope, had prepared the building plan, and the Parish Priest of the Cathedral, Rev. Fr. Fourcaud, laid the foundation stone for the new Church in 1902 at the Southern side of Pondicherry Town.

The blessing of the Church and the first Holy Mass were held at the western wing of the present Church by Mgr. Gandhi on 17-12-1907, and the new parish surrounding this Church was established on 27-01-1908.

Our Lady of Lourdes was established in 1946. The granite pedestal was constructed in 1975. The prayer hall was constructed in 1993. The Church celebrated its centenary in 2008.

The Church was elevated to Basilica status through the order on 24th June 2011, on the Feast of the Solemnity of the Birth of St. John the Baptist, and dedicated on 02nd September 2011.

This 100-year-old church has been led by twenty rectors. The Grotto for Our Lady of Lourdes, Parish Hall, Adoration chapel, and the new parish community hall were some of the developments of this church in the last 50 years. After 2005, that is, after the arrival of the present Parish Priest, Rev. Fr. Thomas, the church has been fully renovated both inside and out.

Ref:
The Basilica’s website:
https://sacredheartbasilica.org/history.php


Jesus the Sacred Heart
Jesus, the sacred heart on the door

Rev. Fr. G. Raja is listed as a former 13th parish priest of the Basilica of the Sacred Heart of Jesus in Puducherry, having served from 1970 (Ordination in 1942)  to 1980. He is recognised as one of the pastors who managed this historic Gothic-style church. His tomb is on the right side of the Basilica after the entrance.


Inscription on the left side of the entrance in the Latin Language…
DECRETUM DE TITULO BASILICAD
CONGREGATIO DE CULTU DIVINO ET DISCIPLINA SACRAMENTORUM
Prot.N.1105/09/L
PONDICHERIENSIS ET CUDDALORENSIS
Instante Excellentissimo ac Reverendissimo Domino Antonio ANANDARAYAR. Archiepiscopo Pondicheriensi et Cuddalorensi, litteris die 20 mensis Augusti anno 2009 datis, preces et vota cleri atque christifidellum expromente, Congregatio de Cultu Divino et Disciplina Sacramentorum, vigore facultatum peculiarium a Summo Pontifice BENEDICTO XVI tributarum, ecclesiam paroecialem Deo in honorem Sacratissimi Cordis lesu in Ipsa civitate Pondopoli dicatam titulo et dignitate BASILICAE MINORIS omnibus cum luribus atque liturgicis concessionibus rite competentibus perlibenter exornat, servatis vero servandis, iuxta Decretum "De Titulo Basilicae Minoris die 9 mensis Novembris anno 1989 evulgatum. Contrariis quibuslibet minime obstantibus.

Ex aedibus Congregationis de Cultu Divino et Disciplina Sacramentorum, die 24 mensis lunii anno 2011, in sollemnitate Nativitatis Sancti Joannis Baptistae.

Inscription on the left side of the entrance translated into English…

DECREE ON THE TITLE OF BASILICA
CONGREGATION OF DIVINE WORSHIP AND THE SACRAMENTAL LINK
Prol.N.1105/09/L
OF PONDICHERY AND CUDDALORE
At the request of His Excellency the Most Reverend Lord Antonio ANANDARAYAR, Archbishop of Pondicherry and Cuddalore, in a letter dated 20th August 2009, and in response to the prayers and wishes of the clergy and the Christian faithful, the Congregation for Divine Worship and the Discipline of the Sacraments, by virtue of the special faculties granted by the Supreme Pontiff BENEDICT XVI, gladly adorns the parish church dedicated to God in honour of the Most Sacred Heart of Jesus in the city of Pondopolis with the title and dignity of MINOR BASILICA with all the privileges and liturgical concessions duly appropriate, subject to the observance of the following, in accordance with the Decree "On the Title of Minor Basilicas" published on 9th November 1989.

Notwithstanding any contrary circumstances,

From the offices of the Congregation for Divine Worship and the Discipline of the Sacraments, on June 24, 2011, on the Solemnity of the Nativity of Saint John the Baptist.

The inscription on the right side of the entrance…

CONGREGATION FOR
DECOFLINE OF SALENTO

TO THE FAITHFUL OF THE ARCHDIOCESE OF PONDICHERRY AND CUDDALORE

To His Excellency, the Most Rev. Antony Anandarayar, Archbishop of Pondicherry and Cuddalore, with regard to the letter dated 20th of August 2009, with requests and longings of the Clergy and the Faithful, the Congregation for Divine Cult and Discipline of the Sacraments, by the power of the special faculty given by the Supreme Pontiff Benedict XVI, adorns with pleasure, the Parochial Church dedicated to God in honour of the Most Sacred Heart of Jesus in the City of Pondicherry, with the title and dignity of MINOR BASILICA with rights and liturgical concessions rightly granted. Servatis Vero Servandis (whatever is to be preserved really should be preserved, no change) according to the Decree DE TITULO BASILICAE MINORIS promulgated on the 9th of November 1989
Anything contrary is strictly forbidden.

This is granted from the Office of the Congregation for Divine Cult and Discipline of Sacraments, on the 24th of June 2011, on the Feast of the Solemnity of the Birth of St. John the Baptist.




HOW TO REACH
The Basilica is in Puducherry, South Boulevard Road, 0.5 km from Puducherry Railway Station, 41 km from Villupuram, and 43 km from Tindivanam.
The nearest Railway Station is Puducherry. 

LOCATION OF THE BASILICA: CLICK HERE






The kodimaram
--- OM SHIVAYA NAMA ---

Thursday, 5 February 2026

Chapel of St. Catherin/ Capela de Santa Catarina de Alexandria/ कैपेला दे सांता कैटरिना दे अलेक्जेंड्रिया, UNESCO Monument, Old Goa, Goa.

This visit to the Chapel of St. Catherin/ Capela de Santa Catarina de Alexandria, an UNESCO Monument, Old Goa, Goa, was a part of the Goa Heritage walk to the temples and Heritage sites, organised by Aatrupadai, from 5th December 2025 to 7th December 2025. Thanks to திருச்சி பார்த்தி for organising the Heritage walk.


Churches & Convents of Goa have been inscribed on the World Heritage List of the convention concerning the protection of the world's cultural and natural heritage on October 20, 1986. Inscription on this list confirms the exceptional universal value of a cultural or natural site which deserves protection for the benefit of all humanity. This UNESCO monument comprises churches, which include the dilapidated Church of St. Augustine Ruins. The list of monuments is… 


Churches & Convents of Goa have been inscribed on the World Heritage List of the convention concerning the protection of the world's cultural and natural heritage on October 20, 1986. Inscription on this list confirms the exceptional universal value of a cultural or natural site which deserves protection for the benefit of all humanity.


This Chapel was built in 1510 by Afonso de Albuquerque to commemorate his entry into the city of Goa on St. Catherine's day. The chapel was further enlarged in 1550 by the governor George Cabral. Finally, it was rebuilt in the year 1952.


The chapel is rectangular on plan. The façade of the chapel has a tower on either side. There is a choir located behind the façade. The choir can be approached through a flight of steps. The main altar is flanked by a sacristy.


The inscription on the outside wall of the Chapel.
AQUI NE STELIGER ERKA-APORT A POR QUE ENTROV-OGOV ERNADOR A DALDO S QUEROVE-E-TOMOV ESTA CIDADE FCSTO ROSE DIA DE SANTA CATIRINA ANODELSIC EN CVIO LOVVORE ME MORIZO COVERINA D ORGE CADRAL MADON TAZER ESTA CASAL ANODEISSOF CVSTA-DEST
Superintending Archaeologist, 
Goa circle.



Ref:
Archaeological Survey of India display board.

LOCATION OF THE MONUMENT: CLICK HERE


--- OM SHIVAYA NAMA--

Wednesday, 4 February 2026

Se’ Cathedral/ से कॅथेड्रल, UNESCO Monument, Old Goa, Goa.

This visit to the Se Cathedral/ से कॅथेड्रल, UNESCO Monument, Old Goa, Goa, was a part of the Goa Heritage walk to the temples and Heritage sites, organised by Aatrupadai, from 5th December 2025 to 7th December 2025. Thanks to திருச்சி பார்த்தி for organising the Heritage walk.


Churches & Convents of Goa have been inscribed on the World Heritage List of the Convention concerning the protection of the world's cultural and natural heritage on October 20, 1986. Inscription on this list confirms the exceptional universal value of a cultural or natural site which deserves protection for the benefit of all humanity. This UNESCO monument comprises churches, which include the dilapidated Church of St. Augustine Ruins. The list of monuments is… 


SE' CATHEDRAL
Churches & Convents of Goa have been inscribed on the World Heritage List of the Convention concerning the protection of the world's cultural and natural heritage on October 20, 1986. Inscription on this list confirms the exceptional universal value of a cultural or natural site, which deserves protection for the benefit of all humanity


The largest church among the group was built in the first quarter of the 17th century. Built on a raised plinth of laterite, the church has, besides the main altar, eight chapels alongside the aisles and six altars in the transept. The structure is oblong on plan but has a cruciform layout in the interior. Architecturally, the exterior of the building is Tuscan and the interior Corinthian. A belfry on the southern side of the façade is said to possess a golden bell that was heard all over old Goa.


The pillared nave is barrel vaulted, while the crossing is rib-vaulted. The main entrance in the façade has Corinthian columns on a plinth supporting a pediment containing an inscription in Latin recording that, in 1562 CE, in the reign of King Dom Sebastiao (1557-1578 CE), this cathedral was ordered to be erected.

The main altar is dedicated to St. Catherine of Alexandria. The richly gilded panel shows the martyrdom of the saint on either side of the nave; there are wooden statues of St. Paul and St. Peter. The projecting gallery to the right accommodates an organ. Below the projecting gallery are the seats for the canon and a throne for the archbishop.


Besides a large painting of St. Christopher hung beneath the choir, several paintings and gilded episodes over the walls draw attention.
Superintending Archaeologist, 
Goa Circle.
Ref:
Archaeological Survey of India display board.

LOCATION OF THE MONUMENT: CLICK HERE




--- OM SHIVAYA NAMA--

Tuesday, 3 February 2026

Church of St. Francis of Assisi/ चर्च ऑफ़ संत फ्रांसिस ऑफ़ असीसी / Chapel of St. Francis Xavier/ St Francis Xavier's Basilica, UNESCO Monument, Old Goa, Goa.

This visit to the Church of St. Francis of Assisi, Chapel of St. Francis Xavier, an UNESCO World Heritage Site, Old Goa, Goa, was a part of the Goa Heritage walk to the temples and Heritage sites, organised by Aatrupadai, from 5th December 2025 to 7th December 2025. Thanks to திருச்சி பார்த்தி for organising the Heritage walk.


Churches & Convents of Goa have been inscribed on the World Heritage List of the Convention concerning the protection of the world's cultural and natural heritage on October 20, 1986. Inscription on this list confirms the exceptional universal value of a cultural or natural site which deserves protection for the benefit of all humanity. This UNESCO monument comprises churches, which include the dilapidated Church of St. Augustine Ruins. The list of monuments is… 


THE CONVENT AND CHURCH OF ST. FRANCIS OF ASSISI
Built in 1661 C.E., this church is built of laterite blocks and is lime plastered. The church faces west and has a nave with three chapels on one side, a choir, two altars in the transept and a main altar. To the north of the main altar is a belfry and sacristy. The convent, which forms an annexe to the church, now houses the Archaeological Museum.




The exterior of the church is of the Tuscan order, while the main entrance is in the Manuline style. The main altar is baroque with Corinthian features. The main entrance is decorated with circular pilasters and a rosette band. The central nave is barrel vaulted, while the crossing is rib vaulted, which supports the choir. The internal buttress walls separating the chapels and supporting the gallery on top have frescoes showing intricate floral designs. Above the tabernacle in the main altar is a large statue of St. Francis of ASSISI and Jesus on the cross. On either side of the main altar in the nave are beautiful, large paintings on wood depicting scenes from the life of Christ.





Constructed in 1661 C.E., this church is built of laterite blocks and is lime plastered. The church faces west and has a nave with three chapels on one side, a choir, two altars in the transept and the main altar. A belfry and a sacristy are located to the north of the main altar of the convent, which forms an annexe to the church, and now houses the archaeological museum.


The exterior of the church is of the Tuscan order, while the main entrance is in Manueline style. The main altar is baroque with Corinthian features. The main entrance is decorated with circular pilasters and a rosette band. The central nave is barrel vaulted, while the crossing is rib vaulted, which supports the choir. Internal buttress walls separating the chapels and supporting the gallery on top are adorned with frescoes showing intricate floral designs. Above the tabernacle in the main altar is a large statue of St. Francis of Assisi and Jesus on the cross. On either side of the main altar in the nave, there are beautiful and large paintings on wood depicting scenes from the life of St. Francis of ASSISI.
Superintending Archaeologist
Goa Circle 
Ref:
Archaeological Survey of India display board.

LOCATION OF THE MONUMENT: CLICK HERE


Constructed with laterite stone, and the paint-peeled-off portion of the stone can be seen
--- OM SHIVAYA NAMA--