Wednesday, 24 November 2021

Sri Vadamalleeswarar Temple / ஸ்ரீ வாடாமல்லீஸ்வரர் கோயில், Oragadam, Chengalpattu District, Tamil Nadu.

வஞ்சித்துறை
புராதனர் பூதிதேகர்
சரோருகர் மாற்குமரியர்
நிராமய நீடிருப்பார்
ஒரேகடத் தீசராமே

The visit to this Sri Vadamalleeswarar Temple at Oragadam near Thirukalukundram in Chengalpattu District was a part of the Maha Vishnu and Shiva Temples visit at Singaperumalkoil, Kolathur (Appur, Vembakkam), Mettu Pudupakkam, and Pon Vilaintha Kalathur, on 24th October 2021.



Moolavar  : Sri Vadamalleeswarar
Consort    : Sri Amirthavalleeswari

Some of the salient features of this temple are….
The temple faces east on a small hill with nearly 100 steps to climb up. The entrance to the temple from the west side. Lord Shiva, in a meditation posture is on a small rock. A small Deepasthambam, balipeedam, and Rishabam / Idabam are in front of the temple. Moolavar in the sanctum sanctorum looks cute in alangaram. In Koshtam, Nirai Vinayagar, Dakshinamurthy, Maha Vishnu, Brahma, and Durgai. In the makara torana above the Koshtams, the bas reliefs of Vinayagar, Dakshinamurthy, Brahma, and Durgai with her Vahana Lion/Simham. The Koshta images are installed at a later date. Vinayagar and Murugan are at the entrance of ardha mandapam.

Lord Shiva’s stucco image, Ambal sannidhi, Nalvar, Chandikeswarar, Suriyan, and Chandran are in the praharam. Ambal is in a separate temple like a sannidhi, facing east, north of the main temple.  Ambal’s images are in the Koshta niches.

ARCHITECTURE
The temple was constructed in the Gajabirushta Vimana style. The adhistana is of simple pada bandha adhistana on a Lotus petals pedestal as upana. The adhistana consists of jagathy, threepatta kumuda, and pattikai. The walls start with vedigai, and the walls are supported by Vishnukantha pilasters with vettu pothiyal. The prastaram consists of valapi, kapotam, and vyyalavari. Lotus petals are in the valapi. The kapotam has the nasikudus with various images. An eka tala "Gajabirushta Vimana" with three kalasas is on the sanctum sanctorum. A temple structure with Lord Shiva is in the lalada nasi. Stucco images of Natarajar with Sivakami, Vinayagar, and Dakshinamurthy are in the Southside Greeva koshtam, Maha Vishnu is in the West side Koshtam, and Brahma, Saraswati, and Sri Valli Devasena Subramaniyar are in the north side greeva koshtam.

The front mandapam was built during the Vijayanagara Period. Subramaniyar, Vinayagar, Nandhiyam Peruman, Maharishis, Donors of this Mandapam, Sanganidhi,  Krishna with Yasodha, Maha Vishnu as Varahamurthy, Herder,  sculptures are on the mandapam pillars. At the entrance, both sides of the ardha mandapam have bas reliefs of  Vyagrapadar, a King (Maybe Chozha ), Ambal as a Cow worshiping Lord Shiva, Ayyanar, Vinayagar, and Murugan

A Lotus medallion is at the center of the ceiling. In addition to that, two lizards are also carved. A stucco image of Lord Shiva with Parvati as Rishabaroodar is on the top of the Mukha mandapam.








HISTORY AND INSCRIPTIONS
The original "Gajabirushta Vimana"-style temple was constructed during the 7th-century Pallava King Nandivarman-II Period and later reconstructed as a stone temple during the Chozha period, between the 10th and 12th centuries. Rajarajan-I and Rajendra-I's period inscriptions are much damaged.

The Pallavamalla’s 7th reign year (731 - 796 CE) inscription found on the rock is much damaged. This inscription belongs to Nandivarman II. (ARE 251 of 1913). As per the inscription, this place was mentioned as Urodam alias Pallavamalla Chaturvedimangalam, and the same was corrupted to the present name of Oragadam. Pallavamalla is one of the titles of Nandivarman-II.

Maha Kumbhabhishekam was conducted on 25th November 2018 after laying paver blocks and a metacolour sheet shed in the praharam.

As per the HR & CE records, this temple has a land property of 2.55 hectares. The temple is under the control of the Hindu Religious & Charitable Endowments Department.

Ref
Annual Report on South Indian Epigraphy Year 1913. 

PC: Website
LEGENDS
As per the legend, Rama did a penance on Lord Shiva for his darshan. Even after many years, Shiva didn’t give darshan, and further, Lord Shiva asked to do pooja with various flowers. Will give darshan, when worshiped with a flower that doesn’t shrink even after days or lose its fragrance. So Rama worshiped Lord Shiva with various flowers, and finally, Lord Shiva gave darshan when Rama worshiped with the Jasmine flower. Hence, Lord Shiva is called Vadamalleeswarar.

Devotees worship Lord Shiva with Jasmine flowers to get the child boon (Husband and wife bathe in the temple tank, carry Jasmine flowers bundled in the saree, and worship Lord Shiva), to get their wishes fulfilled, to flourish in the business, to get rid of problems between husband and wife, uterus problems,  etc.

Nandi is with a tiger skin, which was once presented by Lord Shiva, which is a unique feature of this temple.







POOJAS AND CELEBRATIONS
Apart from regular oru kala poojas, special poojas are conducted on Pradosham, Maha Shivaratri, and Amavasya days.

TEMPLE TIMINGS
The priest will open the temple during the morning and evening, and the time is unpredictable. (The timing should be 06.00 hrs to 12.00 hrs and 17.30 hrs to 20.30 hrs)

CONTACT DETAILS
The temple may be contacted on the mobile number +91 9444346970 for further details.

HOW TO REACH
The village Oragadam near the temple is about 3.2 km from Chengalpattu to Thirukalukundram Road, 6 km from Thirukalukundram, 12 km from Chengalpattu, 43 km from Tambaram, and 70 km from Chennai.
The nearest Railway Station is Chengalpattu.

LOCATION OF THE TEMPLE: CLICK HERE

Nandi devar
Hayagreevar
Donors of the Mukha Mandapam
Durgai in Makara Thorana with Lion as Vahana
--- OM SHIVAYA NAMA --- 

Monday, 22 November 2021

Sri Thulasiswarar Temple / Sri Thulaseeswarar Temple / ஶ்ரீ துளசீஸ்வரர் கோயில், Kolathur, Vembakkam, Chengalpattu District, Tamil Nadu.

The visit to this Sri Thulaseeswarar Temple at Kolathur Vembakkam near Singaperumal Koil was a part of the Maha Vishnu and Shiva Temples visit at Singaperumal Koil, Kolathur (Appur, Vembakkam), Mettu Pudupakkam, and Pon Vilaintha Kalathur, on 24th October 2021.


Moolavar  : Sri Thulaseeswarar
Consort    : Sri Vilvanayagi

Some of the salient features of this temple are…..
The temple faces east. Balipeedam and Rishabam/Idabam are in front of the temple under the metacolour sheet mandapam. Moolavar in the sanctum is a little big. Dwarapalakas are at the entrance of ardha mandapam. In Koshtam Vinayagar, Dakshinamurthy, Lingothbavar, Brahma, and Durgai.

In the praharam, Pidari, a village deity as Kalyana Durgai Amman, Vinayagar, Agasthiyar (Standing and sitting postures), Suriyan, Chandran, Sri Valli Devasena Subramaniyar, Bhairavar, Ambal Vilvanayagi, Chandikeswarar, Nagars under the neem tree, and Navagrahas.

ARCHITECTURE
The main temple consists of the sanctum sanctorum, ardha mandapam, and a metacolour sheet mukha mandapam. This temple was reconstructed in recent years with brick. The construction does not follow any of the architecture or agama. A stucco eka tala vimana is over the sanctum sanctorum.






HISTORY AND INSCRIPTION
The original temple belongs to the Chozha period, and  Vikrama Chozha’s inscription stone is installed on the north side of the compound wall. The inscription records the endowment of burning perpetual lamps for which donations were made to this temple.

It was said that Kalyana Durgai Amman was a Pidari deity, a village-guarding deity with an entrance from the west near the temple. Local people used to offer Non-vegetarian and animal sacrifices. This was stopped during recent years, and access to this Pidari temple was removed. In addition to that, the name of the Pidari Amman was also changed to Kalyana Durgai Amman.

During recent periods, after reconstruction, Jeernodharana Ashta Bandhana Maha Kumbhabhishekam was conducted on 22nd August 2010.


LEGENDS
During the celestial wedding of Lord Shiva with Parvati, all the Deities, Devas, and Maharishis assembled at Mount Kailash. Due to this, the north side of this went down, and the south side rose. Lord Shiva asked Agasthiyar to go to the south to balance it. On the way to Podhigai Hills, sage Agasthiyar came to this place, created a pond, and worshiped Lord Shiva on Puratasi Pournami day/Full moon day with Thulasi and Kondrai flowers. Lord Shiva appeared in the form of Ardhanareeswarar and gave darshan to Agasthiyar. Hence, Lord Shiva is called Thulaseeswarar.

Devotees worship Lord Shiva for a good relationship between husband and wife. Devotees with an adverse effect due to Chandra have to worship Lord Shiva on Monday in Chandra Horai to get rid of the adverse effect.


A Pidari Deity worshiped as Kalyana Durgai and the temple above 

Chozha period Chandikeswarar and Chandran


POOJAS AND CELEBRATIONS:
Apart from oru kala poojas, special poojas are done on Pradosham, Maha Shivaratri, and Mondays.

TEMPLE TIMINGS
The temple will be kept open from 08.00 hrs to 10.00 hrs and from 17.30 hrs to 19.30 hrs.

CONTACT DETAILS
The temple trustee Secretary Mr Ramesh, on his mobile number +91 9444022133, or Gurukkal Sridhar on his mobile number +919444812001, may be contacted for further details.

HOW TO REACH
This place, Kolathur (Appur), is about 1.5 km from Singaperumal Koil to Walajabad Road, 5 km from Singaperumal Koil, 13.5 km from Chengalpattu, 27 km from Tambaram, and 60 km from Chennai Central.
The nearest railway station is Chengalpattu.

LOCATION OF THE TEMPLE: CLICK HERE

--- OM SHIVAYA NAMA ---

Saturday, 20 November 2021

Sri Pataladhri Narasimhar Thirukovil / ஶ்ரீ பாடலாத்ரி நரஸிம்ஹர் திருக்கோவில் / அருள்மிகு பாடலாத்ரி நரசிம்மபெருமாள் திருக்கோயில், Singaperumal Kovil, Singaperumal Kovil.

The visit to this Sri Padalathri Narasimhar Temple, also called Singaperumal Koil, was a part of the Maha Vishnu and Shiva Temples visit at Singaperumal Koil, Kolathur (Appur, Vembakkam), Mettu Pudupakkam, and Pon Vilaintha Kalathur, on 24th October 2021. This is an 8th-century Pallava-period rock-cut cave Temple. Since this rocky hill is red in color, Perumal is called Padalathri. This place derived its name from the shrine of Narasimha Swamy (Nara–Man, Simha–Lion) as Singaperumal Koil.



Moolavar  : Sri Lakshmi Narasimhar
Thayar     : Sri Ahobilavalli

Some of the salient features of this temple are…
The temple faces east with a 5-tier Rajagopuram and a 4-pillar mandapam. Deepa sthambam, balipeedam, Dwajasthambam / kodimaram, and Garudan are after the Rajagopuram. Stucco images of Maha Vishnu’s 10 avatars are on the top of the east wall. Sorga vassal with a mandapam and stucco image of Narasimhar is also on the East wall.  The presiding deity of this temple is Sri Narasimha Swamy. Utsavar is called Prahaladavaradhan with his consorts, Sridevi and Bhudevi.

Sri Lakshmi Narasimha and Vishwaksena are in a small shrine near the sanctum sanctorum. Alwars, Ramanujar, and Manavala Mamuni are in the pillared mandapam. Garuda the Periya Thiruvadi faces straight after the balipeedam, and Anjaneyar, Siriya Thiruvadi is in a separate shire at the end of the street.

Since the sanctum sanctorum is a rock-cut cave, circumambulation is done around the hill called “Giri Pardakshinam”. Steps are constructed in the necessary places. Tirupati Venkatesa Perumal and Lakshmi Narasimhar are on the circumambulatory path.
 



ARCHITECTURE
The temple comprises a sanctum sanctorum and an ardha mandapam. Square pillars and pilasters with taranga pothyal support the mandapam. Dwarapalakas are at the entrance of the sanctum sanctorum. Moolavar is sculptured from the mother rock. Moolavar is about 8 feet tall in sitting posture with Maha Lakshmi on his Chest, wearing a Saligrama mala. Moolavar is with 4 hands. The upper hand holds Changu / Conch and Chakra, and the lower right hand is in Abhaya hastam, and the left hand is on his hip. The right leg is folded on the pedestal, and the left leg is touching the ground. The Urchavar is Prahalatha Varadar, along with Sridevi and Bhudevi. There is a third eye like Lord Shiva, carved on the forehead, which is usually covered by the Thiruman. During Arathi Bhattar, lifts the thiruman and shows the third eye.

Thayar Maha Lakshmi, in this temple, as Ahobilavalli is in a Sanctum similar to Ahobilam, on the right side of the Moolavar, and the Andal sanctum is on the left. Both are constructed with stone and face East. A circumambulatory path is provided to do pradakshina around these two sanctums.

Even though the Sanctum Sanctorum was excavated as a Rockcut Cave, structures like ardha mandapam, maha mandapam, alankara mandapam, 16-pillared mandapam, etc., were added later.  

Vimanams were constructed above the sanctum sanctorum on the rock. The  2-tier Nagara-style vimanam of Moolavar is called "Sri Pranava Koti Vimanam". The Sthala Viruksham of this temple is "Parijatham". The Theertham is called "Suththa Pushkarani". Ankobilavalli Thayar and Andal sannidhi vimanas are of single-tier/Eka tala vesara style.





Makara thorana of Andal sannidhi

HISTORY AND INSCRIPTIONS
The rock-cut cave was scooped during the reign of Pallava King Mahendravarman in the 8th Century.  The temple covers an area of 2 acres. Chozha-period inscriptions and later-period inscriptions are found in this temple. The earliest inscription found in this temple belongs to the Chozha King Rajaraja-I (985 – 1014 CE). As per the inscriptions, this temple was called Narasinga Vinnagar Perumal, was called Aazhwar Narasinga Vinnagar Devar, and this Singaperumal Koil was called Chengundram.

Rajaraja-I’s 990 CE inscription records an endowment of maintenance of this temple by a person called Senda Kutti, for which 26 sheep were gifted to Azhvar Narasinga Vinnagara Devar.

Rajaraja-I’s 993 CE inscription records the registration of a gift of Land to this temple by a person called Ayyaran Nakkan for the burning of two Lamps and Naivedayam to Narasinga Vinnagar Azhvar

Another inscription of the same King (993 CE) behind the Andal Sannidhi is found damaged and incomplete. It refers to a gift made by an individual to God Narasinga Vinnagara Azhwar of Chengundram.

A much-damaged, 11th-century inscription was found on the lower portion of a Pillar, and details couldn’t be made out clearly. This may also record some endowment by the King or by some individuals.

The 1st July 1912 (Parithabi Year Aani 18) inscription on the well records that the well was excavated and gifted by Sriman  Nallanchakravarthy Venkatacharya’s disciple Chennapattinam (Present Chennai) Uppudoor Perumal Chetty’s son Uppudoor Ramanujam Chetty.

On the 20th of May 1916, the inscription of the 16 Pillar Mandapam records that ThirumalaiLinjumur Veeraraghava Venkatachariyar’s wife had constructed this 16 pillar mandapam. In continuation of the same inscription, it records  the Paving of Cuddaph stone, and the brick structure above the mandapam was constructed by the Chennai Vaisikas. In 1916, this place was under the Chengalpattu District.

On 21st June 1991,  Jeenotharana Ashtabandhana Maha Kumbhabhishekam was conducted after 1. The rectification of the ceilings of all sannidhis and the Compound wall, 2. Renovation of Moolavar Vimanam and 3. Ronovation of Thayar sannidhi vimanam. 

On 10th May 2002, Ashtabandhana Maha Samproshanam was conducted. For the same, the following works were carried out. Repair and maintenance of  Moolavar Vimanam, Thayar sannidhi, Anjaneyar sannidhi, Laying of marble flooring in Moolavar and Thayar sannidhi, Maintenance of Lakshmi Narashimhar Sannidhi, Electrical wiring, Thirukalyana Utsavam, Sayanthivasam and Voshbaroopam, Yagasala materials, flowers, and Paintings of all Vimana and temple.
The Office building was constructed in the year 2003.

Maha Samprokshanam for Andal sannidhi Vimana was conducted on 10th February 2006, after construction.  On 14th May 2007, kodimaram /Dwajasthambam was installed, and Kumbhabhishekam was conducted for the same.

On 19th March 2014, Maha Kumbhabhishekam was conducted by HR & CE.

On 15th March 2021, Rajagopuram was constructed, and Maha Samprokshanam was conducted.

The annual income of the temple as per the records of HR & CE is for Fasli 1402 - Rs. 39, 266/-; for Fasli 1403 - Rs. 57,972/ - and for Fasli 1404 - Rs. 57, 729/-. A Board of three trustees appointed by the Hindu Religious & Charitable Endowments Department manages the affairs of the temple; one of these is hereditary; of the other two, one is generally from the Vysya Komti Chetty community.

Pillar Inscription 
The inscription mentioned the 4-pillar and 16-pillar mandapa
The inscription mentioned the 4-pillar and 16-pillar mandapa

LEGENDS
This is one of the Purana kshethra mentioned in the Brahmanda Purana. During Maha Vishnu’s Narasimha avatar, this place was surrounded by a forest. The Maharishi Jabali did a penance of Maha Vishnu for his darshan. Maha Vishnu took the avatar as Narasimhar (Simha head and Human body) at the request of Bhakta Prahalada. Broke the Pillar, came out and killed Hiranyakashipu, the demon King. With the same avatar as Ugra Narasimha, he gave darshan to Saint Jabali on a pradosam day. Hence, it is considered that Pradosham Day is auspicious to have the darshan of Lord Narasimha after Thirumanjanam / sacred bath.   

There is a tree called Angolam, alias Azhinjil tree, on the circumambulatory path. The specialty of the tree is mention in Andal’s 44th pasuram as –ஆயரும் அஞ்சிட பூத்த நிலக்கடம்பேரி புகழ் பாய்ந்து. It is believed that this tree is rare and is considered sacred. Hence, to get the marriage, Child boon, and to excel as a genius, Devotees have to take out 2 strands of thread from their dress and tie them to the tree after applying Kungum and Turmeric powder. After this prayer, it is believed that, with the grace of God, the wishes will be fulfilled.



POOJAS AND CELEBRATIONS
Apart from regular 4 Kala poojas as per Vaikanasa agama, special Poojas are conducted on Chithirai (April – May) month Brahmotsavam, Narasimhar Jayanthi, Ramanujar Jayanthi, Jyeshtabhishekam, Vaikunta Ekadasi, Vajraangi Seva to Utsavar, and Muthangi Seva to Moolavar and Pavithra Utsavam in the month Aani (June – July), Thepotsavam / Float festival in the month Masi (February – March), and on minor festivals line, Uthiram, Swati, Ekadasi, Pradosham, Amavasai (New Moon Day), Pournami Days. 

TEMPLE TIMINGS
The Temple will be kept open from 07.00 hrs to 12.00 hrs and from 16.30 hrs to 20.30 hrs.
The Devotees are allowed only after the Moring Abhishekam and Poojas, maybe after 09.00 hrs.

CONTACT DETAILS
The landline number +91 44 2746 4325 may be contacted for further details. Alternatively, the priest V. Gopalakrishna Bhattar +91 93801 14686 / +91 44 2746 4441 may be contacted.

HOW TO REACH
The temple is about 1 km off from the Chennai to Trichy GST Road.
The temple is 1 km from Singaperumal Koil Sub Urban Railway Station, 10 km from Chengalpattu, 25 km from Tambaram, 50 km from Kanchipuram, and  50 km from Chennai.
The nearest Railway Station is Singaperumal Koil, and the Junction is Chengalpattu.

LOCATION OF THE TEMPLE: CLICK HERE






Thulabaram
---OM SHIVAYA NAMA ---