Wednesday, 10 April 2019

Sri Ramanatheswarar and Sri Kasi Viswanathar Temple, Kavanur, Sirukalathur, Kundrathur, Kanchipuram District, Tamil Nadu.

07th April 2019.
It was planned to visit Vishnu / Ramar,  and Shiva Temples (Sri Kailasanathar Temple, Sri Kasi Viswanathar Temple)  at Agaramel and Meppur along the Chembarambakkam Tank eastern bund. But to my bad luck, none of the temples  were open. Finally decided to visit the Sri Ramanatheswarar Temple, which is on a small hill at Kavanur, a part of Sirukalathur near Kundrathur. During our Adyar Cultural Mapping visit, this temple was under reconstruction. This very small  hill was a megalithic site that had Cairn circles, but the same has now been disturbed. The temple was reconstructed, and Kumbhabhishekam was also conducted.


Moolavar    : Sri Ramanatheswarar & Sri Kasi Viswanathar
Consort      : Sri Parvathavarthini  & Sri Visalakshi

Some of the salient features of this temple are…
The temple was constructed on a very small mount facing east with an entrance mandapam on the south. Rishaba mandapam and palipedam are on the east side. Sri Visalakshi Amman is in the antarala facing south.  Sri Parvatha vardhini is in the Artha mandapam. Sannadhi for Nalvar, Suryan, Chandran, and Bairavar are in the ardha mandapam.

Dakshinamurthy, Lingothbavar, Brahma, and Durgai are in koshtam. In the outer prakaram 63var, Kasi Viswanathar (in a separate mandapam), Saptha kannis, Chandikeswarar and 8 Lingas on eight directions (under construction). Except for Moolavar and Amman, the rest of the statues are new, including koshtam. The Parvathavarthini Sannadhi and Visalakshi Sannadhi, and stucco images are not part of the original temple but were added at a later date.

ARCHITECTURE
The temple complex consists of a sanctorum,  antarala, and ardha mandapam. The sanctum was built on a pada bandha adhistana.  A three-tier nagara vimana (built during this renovation) is in the sanctum. The sanctum and koshtam are supported by the Vishnu kantha pilasters with a square base, nagabandam, malaithongal, kalasam, thadi, kudam, lotus petals mandi, palakai, veerakandam, and poomottu pothyal. The prastaram consists of valapi, kapotam with nasikudus and vyyalavari. A two-tier nagara vimanam is on the bhumi desam. Stucco images of Shiva, Dakshinamurthy, Maha Vishnu and Brahma are in the tala and greeva koshtams. 
 


HISTORY AND INSCRIPTIONS
The temple was built during the 16th to 17th Century Nayak period, and faint inscriptions are found on the muppattai Kumudam.

Inscriptions of kumudam

LEGENDS
It is believed that Sri Ramar and Sekkizhar worshipped Lord Shiva of this temple, and Sita is Vaibhava Lakshmi in this temple. 

TEMPLE TIMINGS:
The temple will be kept open from 08.00 hrs to 11.00 hrs, and from 17.00 hrs to 20.30 hrs.

CONTACT DETAILS:
The mobile number of Vijay +918056987337 may be contacted for Poojas, Kaingaryam and further details.

HOW TO REACH:
This temple is close to the Sirukalathur post office  and the Sirukalathur bus stop.
About  2.2 km from Kundrathur and 20 km from Sriperumbudur on the Kundrathur to Sriperumbudur Road.

LOCATION OF THE TEMPLE: CLICK HERE




 Saptha Kannis
---OM SHIVAYA NAMA---

Wednesday, 3 April 2019

Sri Somanatha Eswar Temple / சோமநாத ஈஸ்வர் கோயில், Kolathur, Chennai / Thiruvallur District, Tamil Nadu.

24th March 2019.
After the Sri Kailasanathar temple’s visit, Mr. Manoj and I went to this Shiva Temple at Kolathur near Villivakkam.


Moolavar    : Sri Somanatha Eswar
Consort      : Sri Amuthambigai

The salient features of this temple are…
The temple faces east with a mottai gopuram with a Nayaka period mandapam. The balipeedam, Dwajasthambam, and Rishabam are immediately after the entrance. The sanctum sanctorum consists of the sanctum, antarala, and ardha mandapam. In koshtam Vinayagar, Dakshinamurthy, Vishnu, Brahma, and Durgai.  Ambal sannidhi is in the ardha mandapam facing south.

In the inner praharam sannidhi for Somaskandar, Urchavars, Siddhi Puthi Vinayagar, Sri Valli Devasena Subramaniar, Naalvar, Kasi Viswanathar with Visalakshi, Bairavar, Nataraja with Sivagami, Chandran, Suryan, and Chandikeswarar. In the outer  praharam sannadhi for Vannimara (Vanni Tree) Vinayagar, Sri Valli Devasena Subramaniar, Navagrahas. Immediately after the temple entrance on the left, there is a sannidhi for Sridevi & Bhudevi samedha Sri Amirtharaja Perumal with Utsavars.

HISTORY AND INSCRIPTIONS
As per unconfirmed sources, the temple was constructed in the year 1745 CE by Mr. Muthukumarappa Mudaliar, who served as a Diwan under the Arcot Nawab. He discovered a Shiva Linga at Kolathur and constructed a Temple using the money collected as Tax, which is supposed to be handed over to the Nawab. On hearing this, Nawab ordered Mudaliar to be imprisoned. Before the arrest, Shiva came in the form of a human and gave him a bowl to beg and collect money.  Mudaliar begged and managed to collect a sum that was more than what he spent on constructing the temple. He gave it to Nawab, and realizing the power of Lord Shiva, the Nawab gifted three villages in the Kolathur area to this Shiva Temple.

Madhava Gana yogi has sung "Kolathur Pathitrupathu" on Lord Shiva of this temple 

LEGENDS
From another legend, Chandran, the moon also called Soman, gets relieved of his curse  after worshiping Lord Shiva of this temple. Hence, Shiva obtained the name of Somanatha Eswar. 

As per another legend, the Asuras Vilvan and Vadapi,  with Agasthiyar, are also associated with this temple.  Agasthiyar also worshiped Lord Shiva of this temple.

TEMPLE TIMINGS:
The temple will be kept open from 07.00 hrs to 11.00 hrs and from 17.00 hrs to 20.00 hrs.

HOW TO REACH:
Very close to the Ganga Cinema Theater of Kolathur.
About a km from Rettai Eri and Kolathur Metro water stations.
About 2,2 km from Villivakkam Railway Station.

LOCATION OF THE TEMPLE:  CLICK HERE



  Vannimara Vinayagar Sannadhi 








  Nandhi is playing Miruthangam and Veena
---OM SHIVAYA NAMA---

Tuesday, 2 April 2019

Sri Kasi Viswanatha Swamy Temple / ஸ்ரீ காசி விஸ்வநாதர் கோயில், Ayanavaram, Chennai, Tamil Nadu

 24th March 2019.
After completing the darshan of Sri Kandaswamy at Kosapet on 24th November 2019, Mr. Manoj took me to the Shiva Temple at Ayanavaram.  This 200 and odd-year-old Shiva temple is one of the 400 and odd heritage structures and temples listed by the Padmanabhan Committee, and the same was notified by the High Court of Madras. The Temple is very close to Medavakkam Tank Road. Initially, the Temple had a vast area of land, and the major portion was taken over/ encroached on by the Govt for constructing the Bus Depot, Annai Sathya Nagar, and other residential colonies. This temple also has a connection with Tirupati Tirumala Devasthanam (TTD). The details are given below.


Moolavar    : Sri Kasi Viswanatha Swamy
Consort      : Sri Visalakshi

The salient features of this temple are…..
The Temple faces east with a mottai gopuram built with brick and mortar. The Balipeedam, Dwajasthambam, and Rishabam are immediately after the East side Mottai Gopuram Entrance. Vinayagar and Bala Murugan are on both sides of the entrance to the ardha mandapam. Balipeedam and Rishabam are in front of the Sanctum Sanctorum. Dwarapalakas are on both sides of the entrance to Sanctum Sanctorum. Moolavar Shiva Lingam is small, and Swayambhu is brought from Kasi. Vinayagar, Dakshinamurthy, Mahavishnu, Brahma, and Durgai are in the koshtam. 

Ambal Shrine is in the mandapam facing south with a separate Balipeedam, Dwajasthambam, and Ambal’s Simha Vahana on the south side of the praharam. Ambal is in a standing posture with abhaya varada hastam.

In ardha Manadapam Nalvar, Saptamatrikas, Sri Valli Devasena Subramaniar, Maha Lakshmi, Saraswati, Pichadanar, Mohini, Ambal, Nataraja with Sivagami, Manickavasagar, Anjaneyar, and Veerabhadra.

In the outer praharam, the Trustees' office, Vasantha mandapam, Bairavar, Navagrahas, Chandran, Suriyan, and Chandikeswarar. 



Sri Valli Devasena Subramaniar- Maha Lakshmi - Saraswati
Saptamatrikas
Veerabhadra

ARCHITECTURE
The temple consists of the sanctum sanctorum, antarala, and ardha mandapam. The sanctum sanctorum is on a Gramiya-style adhistanam. The temple was constructed with stone from adhistanam to prastaram. A two-tala dravida vesara vimana is on the prastaram. Shiva, Dakshinamurthy, Maha Vishnu, and Brahma are in the tala and greeva koshtas. Ambal sannidhi is with a two-tala salakara vimanam.

Dwajasthamba for Shiva and Ambal sannidhis 
 Ambal Sannidhi Vimanam

HISTORY AND INSCRIPTIONS
The temple was built by the Gujarathi family, and some of the details are…

The Tawkers, a clan of Gujarati origin, had migrated to Trichy in the 1700s. So they added T (Trichy) in their initials, thereby establishing the connection with the historic Town of Trichy.  Mr. TR Tawker, one from the Gujarathi family, moved to Madras and started his Gem and Jewelry business on Mount Road (The Indo-Saracenic style building was designed by Henry Irwin, a famous British designer in those days) in the 1890s. This firm became insolvent in 1925. One Mr. Viswanatha Tawker also belongs to the collateral branch of the firm and had some contributions to this temple inscribed on a tablet installed at the entrance. However Two women of the Tawker family, namely Ramkor Bai and Ratna Bai, the sisters, are responsible for the construction of this temple. They were wealthy enough and lent money to the East India Company for their cloth trade. 

The construction of this temple was started in 1804 CE and completed in 1807 CE. They brought 2 Shiva Lingas from Kasi, of which one was installed in a small shrine at a choultry, Motta Utra, a congregational center for the Khedawal Community of Gujaratis in Madras on Mint Street opposite Sri Ekambareswarar Temple. The second one was installed in this temple. A tank was also excavated across the road (probably Medavakkam Tank Road). They constructed shops and single-story houses with madras terraces & Mangalore tiles around the temple. The income from these properties was utilized for conducting regular poojas and celebrations. They also established a Choultry, which served as a Guest house and is now used as an accommodation for Students.  The Gujarati Sisters' desire to construct a Vishnu Temple was not fulfilled.

The Tawker line that built the temple died out over time, and the administration was passed on to the Dagat family, and then it came into the hands of the present Daveys. The principal money loaned by the Tawker family, Sisters Ramkor Bai and Ratna Bai, to the East India Company was never returned till independence, and only interest was paid. After independence, the payment of interest was also stopped. Daveys, who took the administration of this temple, filed a suit in the Madras High Court and won the case. The principal amount was returned to the temple after calculating the exchange rate for the Pagoda vs the Rupee. Now the temple administration is being managed by Mr. T. R. Subbaraya Davey. 

As per the inscription, Punar Jeernodharana was started on 08th May 1931, and Maha Kumbhabhishekam was conducted on 11th May 1932 under the trustees TR Ranganath Davey and TR Krishnanji Davey.

The temple was renovated in 1992 and 2016, without altering the main structure.

Ref:
My Sincere thanks to Mr. Sriram Venkatakrishnan for the article on this temple... 


Ramkor Bai and Ratna Bai- Construction of this temple inscription

POOJAS & CELEBRATIONS
Apart from the regular poojas, a 10-day Brahmotsavam will be conducted during the month, every year. On the 9th night, Sri Shiva with Parvati is taken in procession on a silver Rishabam. To witness this function, the Gujarati families assemble at the temple from various parts of the Country.

The Umbrellas taken in a procession meant for the Tirupati Tirumala Bramorchavam, which started from Madras Chennakesava Perumal temple, used to stay in this temple for one night before their onward journey.

TEMPLE TIMINGS:
The temple will be kept open from 06.00 hrs to 11 hrs and from 16.30 hrs to 20.30 hrs.

HOW TO REACH:
The temple is about 200 meters from the Ayanavaram bus terminus
About 2 km from Perambur Railway Station and 2 km from Perambur Carriage Works.

LOCATION OF THE TEMPLE:  CLICK HERE






---OM SHIVAYA NAMA---

Monday, 1 April 2019

Sri Kandaswamy Temple / ஸ்ரீ கந்தசாமி கோயில், Kosapet, Purasawalkam / Purasaiwalkam, Chennai, Tamil Nadu.

25th March 2019.
This temple is in Kosapet, a part of Purasawalkam in Chennai City. Had gone to this Temple along with Mr. Manoj on 24th March 2019. Since this area is famous for pot making, it obtained the name of Kuyavar Pettai and later turned to Kosapet. Also, it was learned that clay Pillayars are manufactured during the Vinayaka Chaturthi festival season.


Moolavar: Sri Kandaswamy

Some of the salient features of this temple are…
The temple faces east with a 5-tier Rajagopuram. Dwajasthambam, balipeedam, and Peacock, the Vahana of Lord Sri Murugan, are immediately after the Rajagopuram.

Urchavar (It was told that this Urchavar and the George Town Kandakottam Temple’s Urchavar are done by the same person), Moolavar Sri Kandaswamy, and Kasi Viswanathar sannadhis are in a straight line facing east with Vimanas. Stucco images of Arupadai Veedu Lord Muruga, and Sri Meenakshi Sundareswarar’s Marriage  are in the Urchavar’s front Mandapam. The Sanctum sanctorum consists of the Sanctum, antarala, and ardha mandapam. This artha mandapam is common for the Kasi Viswanathar’s Sannadhi and Ambal Sannidhis. Ambal Sri Kasi Visalakshi is facing south. In the artha mandapam, Vinayagar, Nalvar, Veerabahu, with his Captains. In the koshta of Shiva’s sanctum, Vinayagar, Dakshinamurthy, Vishnu, Brahma, and Durgai.

In the outer praharam sannadhi for Pamban Swamigal, Kirupanandha Variyar, Bairavar, Ramalinga Adigalar, Navagrahas, Idumban, Chandran, Suryan, and Chandikeswarar.

Sri Pamban Swamigal has sung hymns on Lord Muruga of this temple, and the hymns are in the form of inscriptions available in the mandapam.

HISTORY AND INSCRIPTIONS
As per the inscriptions and the Pamban Swamigal’s hymn, this Temple was called Shanmuga Kottam, and the place was called "Shanmuga Gnanapuram", a part of Kosapet and now a part of Purasawalkam. Even though the Rajagopuram existed earlier, with the Muruga Bakthar Sri Kirupanandha Variyar Swamigal's effort, the Rajagopuram was renovated, and Kumbhabhishekam was conducted in the year 4th July 1941.




The temple pond "Saravana Poigai" was constructed and opened by Sri Kirupanandha Variyar Swamigal on 9th Feb 1970. The temple pond is just opposite the Main temple.

The Temple Tank- Saravana Poigai

The earliest inscription tablet is available in the urchavar mandapam. It records the paving of granite stone is the Kuzhanthai mandapam, by Sadaiyandi. From this, the temple may belongs to 18 to 19th Century. The inscription reads as....
  1. விசய  அற்ப்ப
  2. சி மீ அ உ சடையா
  3. ண்டி கொழந்
  4. தை மண்டபத்து
  5. கருங்கல் தள
  6. வரிசை செய்த த
  7. றுமம் உ
The oldest inscription speaks about the paving of the granite floor of the mandapam

Arunagirinathar Sannidhi was constructed by Arunagiri Nathar Bhakta Jana Sabha. The Kumbhabhishekam was conducted in 1941 CE, 2000 CE (20-08-2002), and 2015 CE. 

POOJAS AND CELEBRATIONS
Apart from Regular poojas, all the functions related to Lord Muruga, like Thai Poosam, Kiruthigai nakshatra day, Karthigai Deepam, New Year's, both Tamil and English, Thai Pongal, etc.,  are conducted.  

TEMPLE TIMINGS:
The temple will be kept open from 06.30 hrs to 11.00 hrs and from 17.00 hrs to 20.30 hrs.

CONTACT DETAILS:
The landline +91 44 26623216   may be contacted for further details.

HOW TO REACH:
About 500 meters from the Perambur barracks Bus stop and 1.5 km from the Doveton bus stop.
500 meters from Mahalakshmi Cinema Theater and 750 meters from Vasanthi Cinema Theater.
3.4 km from Egmore Railway Station and 2.7 km from Vyasarpadi Jeeva Railway Station. 

LOCATION OF THE TEMPLE: CLICK HERE







Entrance arch to the Temple Tank- Saravana Poigai

---OM SHIVAYA NAMA---