Wednesday, 14 June 2017

Sri Kalyana Varadharaja Perumal Temple / ஸ்ரீ கல்யாண வரதராஜபெருமாள் கோயில், Kaladipet, Thiruvotriyur, Chennai, Tamil Nadu.

11th June 2017.
It was a long-pending visit to this 18th-century British period Sri Kalyana Varadharaja Perumal temple at Kaladipet, a part of Thiruvotriyur (The place was named after the Governor of Madras, 1717 – 1720 CE Joseph Collett, as Collettpet and later changed to Kaladipet). After reading an article written by Dr. N. Sreedharan in The Hindu wished to visit this temple. In that article, he raised doubts about the necklace (Makara Kandigai) donated to Sri Varadharaja Perumal of Kanchipuram by the then-Governor Robert Clive. He suspects that it may be by the Governor of Madras, Joseph Collett, to this Kaladipet Sri Varadharaja Perumal. (The article in the JPG image is also uploaded.


காலடிபேட் ஸ்ரீ கல்யாண வரதராசப் பெருமாள் பற்றி முனைவர் என். ஸ்ரீதரன் எழுதிய கட்டுரையைப் படித்ததில் இருந்து அந்த கோவிலைக் காண வேண்டும் என்று இருந்தேன். அந்த கட்டுரையில் ராபர்ட் கிளைவ் மதராஸ் மாகானத்தின் ஆளுனராக இருந்த போது காஞ்சிபுரம் வரதராசப் பெருமாளுக்கு மகர கண்டிகை என்ற ஆபரணம் கொடுத்தது பற்றி சந்தேகம் எழுப்பி இருந்தார்.  அவருடைய ஆட்சி காலத்தைக் குறிப்பிட்டு ஜோசப் கல்லட் என்ற ஆளுனர் (பொயு 1717-1720) காலடிப்பேட்டையில் உள்ள வரதராச பெருமாளுக்கு கொடுக்கப்பட்டு இருக்கலாம் என்ற எழுதி இருந்தார். காலடிபேட்டை Joseph Collett நினைவாக கல்லட்பேட் என்று இருந்தது. பின்பு மறுவி தற்போது காலடிபேட் என்று அழக்கப் படுகின்றது.

இந்த கோவில் Joseph Collett ன் அலுவலகத்தில் பணி புரிந்த வீரராகவாச்சாரியாரால் பொயு 1717-1720 களில் கட்டப்பட்டது. இவர் காஞ்சி வரதராசப்பெருமாளை தரிசித்து விட்டு காலதாமதமாக வருவதைக் கண்ட ஆளுனர் இவருக்கு பணம் கொடுத்து காஞ்சியில் உள்ள மூலவரைப் போலவே செய்து ஒருகோவில் கட்ட ஏற்பாடு செய்தார் என்று கூறப்படுகின்றது. அதுவும்  வீரராகவாச்சாரியாருக்கு திருப்தி அளிக்காததால் ஆளுனரின் உத்தரவுப்படி காஞ்சி வரதராசப் பெருமாள் கோவில், மற்றும் காலடிபேட் வரதராசப் பெருமாள் கோவில் உற்சவர்கள் இரண்டையும் மாற்றி வைக்கப்பட்டு உள்ளது என்று பட்டர் கூறினார் (உண்மையா என்று தெரியவில்லை. இது செவி வழி செய்தி மட்டுமே)

Moolavar : Sri Kalyana Varadharaja Perumal, Pavala Vanna Perumal
Thayar    : Sri Perundevi Thayar.

Some of the important features of this temple are...
The temple faces east, and the Rajagopuram is under construction with public participation (The new Rajagopuram is to replace the damaged Rajagopuram built by M/ Vasu Ayyar & Kuppammal through their own fund). Balipeedam, Dwajasthambam, Deepasthambham, and Garudalwar Sannadhi are immediately after the Rajagopuram.

In the outer praharam sannadhi for Anjaneyar, Chakkarathalwar, Perundevi Thayar, Andal, Ramar, and Navagrahas. The temple tank is on the right side of the temple. There are 4 Pillar mandapam near Chakkarathalwar Sannadhi. Also, there is a 4-pillar mandapam in front of the Rajagopuram, which is encroached and used for parking vehicles.

ARCHITECTURE
The temple consists of the mukha mandapam, the ardha mandapam, and the sanctum. In the mukha mandapam, Manavala Mamunigal, Udayavar, and Alwars. In the sanctum, Moolavar is with Sridevi and Bhoodevi in a standing posture. It was said that the Moolavar is a replica of Kanchipuram Sri Varadaraja Perumal. 


HISTORY AND INSCRIPTIONS
Urchava murti is kept in front (as per Battar, the Utsava Murtis of Kanchipuram and Kaladipet are interchanged for Veeragavachariyar by the Governor of Madras). The interesting story goes like this.

In 1717- 1720 CE, Joseph Collet was the Governor of Madras, and Veeragavachariyar was working under him. He used to report for duty after the darshan of Kanchi Varadaraja Perumal. Seeing Collet got angry and gave some money to construct a Temple for worship. As per Pattar, after some days, Veeragavachariyar started coming late to the office. When asked, he replied that he was satisfied only after seeing the urchavar Pavala Vanna Perumal of Kanchipuram. Then the Governor ordered the interchange of the Urchavars of Kaladipet Varadharaja Perumal and Kanchipuram Varadaraja Perumal (This has to be verified; this is only hearsay).

I could find 2 inscriptions belonging to 1924 CE, and there are no older inscriptions found. Both inscriptions are in Telugu. Probably one inscription speaks about donations made, and the other one is for the construction of Chakkarathalwar sannidhi. Those who know Telugu may clarify this.





TEMPLE TIMINGS:
The temple will be kept open from 07.00 hrs to 11.30 hrs and from 17.00 hrs to 20.30 hrs.

CONTACT DETAILS:
Pattars Murali +919381204134 and Vedantham +919940173559 may be contacted for further details.

HOW TO REACH:
About 500 meters off the main road on Sannadhi Street at Raja Kadai, at Kaladipet. Sannathi Street is also known as Thiruvottiyur Market.
Town buses are available from various parts of the city to Thiruvotriyur and get down at Raja Kadai.

LOCATION OF THE TEMPLE:    CLICK HERE









---OM SHIVAYA NAMA---

Tuesday, 13 June 2017

Sri Agastheeswarar Temple, ஸ்ரீ அகஸ்தீஸ்வரர் கோயில், Thiruvotriyur, Thiruvallur District, Tamil Nadu.

 11th June 2017
At the entrance of the Thiruvotriyur sannidhi street, I happened to see the Rajagopuram of this temple with a stucco Rishabam/idabam on both sides. Yes, it is my Lord Shiva’s temple, which I had not visited earlier. Had the darshan of Lord Shiva. This is one of the unique Shiva temples facing the north direction.


This temple is believed to be one of the Thevara vaippu sthalam sung by  Thirunavukkarasu Swamigal. It is believed that this is one of the 108 Shiva Lingas installed by  Sage Agasthiyar in Thondai Nadu and a Thevara Vaippu sthalam. Thirunavukkarau Swamigal has sung hymns in praise of Lord Shiva of Agatheechuram along with Nandhikechuram, Mahalaechuram, Nagechuram, Kodeechuram, Kondeechuram, Kukkudechuram, Akkeechuram, Adakechuram, Ayaneechuram, Aththeechuram, Siddheechuram, and Ramechuram.

நாடகமா டிடநந்தி கேச்சுரமா காளேச்
        சுரநாகேச் சுரநாக ளேச்சுரநன் கான
கோடீச் சுரங் கொண்டீச் சுரந்திண் டீச் சுரங்
        குக்குடேச் சுரமகத்தீச் சுரங்கூறுங்கால்
ஆடகேச் சுரமகத்தீச் சுரமய னீச்சுர
        மத்தீக்சுரஞ் சித்தீக்சுர மந்தண் கானல்
ஈடுதிரை யிராமேசசுர மென்றென் றேத்தி
        யிறைவனுறை சுரம்பலவு மியம்பு வோமே.
….. திருநாவுக்கரசு சுவாமிகள் ( 6-71-8 )

Moolavar    : Sri Agastheeswarar
Consort      : Sri Akilandeswari

Some of the important features of this temple are….
This temple faces north with a five-tier Rajagopuram. A small Dwajasthambam and a balipeedam are in front of the sanctum.

Sannadhi for Naalvar, Valli Devasena Subramaniar, Vinayagar, and Agasthiyar are in the inner praharam.  In the outer praharam sannidhi for Navagrahas and Nagars.

HISTORY AND INSCRIPTIONS
It was said that the temple seems to be very old, and there is no evidence to prove its antiquity. 

LEGENDS
Also, it was said that Shiva Linga was installed and worshiped by Sage Agathiyar.  This temple comes under the control of the Sri Thiagarajar & Vadivudai Ambal temple

TEMPLE TIMINGS
The temple will be kept open from 06.00 hrs to 12.00 hrs and from 16.00 hrs to 20.30 hrs

CONTACT DETAILS:
Sivachariyar Ravichandra Gurukkal may be contacted on his mobile at +919952065696 for further details.

HOW TO REACH:
This temple is at the entrance of Thiruvotriyur Sri Vadivudai Amman temple, Sannidhi Street entrance.
All the town buses to Thiruvotriyur pass through this place.

LOCATION OF THE TEMPLE:    CLICK HERE


---OM SHIVAYA NAMA ---

Monday, 12 June 2017

Sri Dakshinamurthy Temple / ஸ்ரீ தட்சிணாமூர்த்தி கோயில், Thiruvotriyur, Chennai, Tamil Nadu.

 11th June 2017.
After the darshan of Sri Kalyana Varadharaja Perumal at Kaladipet, on 11th June 2017, went to worship  Sri Dakshinamurthy at Thiruvotriyur. This temple is on the left of the Sri Thyagaraja temple, Rajagopuram.


Moolavar: Sri Dakshinamurthy.

There are a few temples dedicated to Sri Dakshinamurthy, and one such temple is at Thiruvotriyur. Sri Dakshinamurthy with four Maharshis – Sanaka, Sanatana, Sananda, and Sanat Kumara idols used to be installed in koshtam facing south of all Shiva Temples. Dakshinamurthy will be in a meditating posture. But in this temple, Dakshinamurthy is with 18 rishis facing the North Direction – Kubera direction - in the sanctum as Moolavar. At the entrance of the main sanctum on the left is Dakshinamurthy urchavar, and on the right Panchamukha Anjaneyar sitting on a lion. There is a Shivalinga in front of Sri Dakshinamurthy.

Vinayagar and Nagars are under the peepal tree on the back side of the sanctum sanctorum. It was said that the temple is more than 400 to 500 years old, and the Moolavar was installed by a Saint, who lived there and taught the Vedas to the students, but it looks like a modern concrete structure.

The devotees used to pray to Dakshinamurthy to get excellence in study and music, to buy land/ wealth (since the Lord is facing kubera Direction), to get land and remove obstacles in the marriage.  Devotees offer yellow vasthram,  chenna gram, garland, and Abhishek. Special prayers are offered on Sundays from 16.30 hrs to 18.00 hrs.

TEMPLE TIMINGS:
The temple will be kept open from 06.00 hrs to 11.00 hrs and from 16.00 hrs to 20.00 hrs. On Thursdays, the temple is open from 5.00 hrs to 21.00 hrs without a break.

CONTACT DETAILS:
For further details, the mobile number may be contacted at +9198407 97878.

HOW TO REACH :
About a KM from Thiruvotriyur / Tiruvottiyur Railway station.
All the buses to Thiruvotriyur pass through this temple and are about 300 meters from the bus stop.
Town buses are available from various parts of the city.
The temple on the left side of Sri Thyagaraja & Vadivudaiamman Temple, Rajagopuram.

LOCATION OF THE TEMPLE:    CLICK HERE


 Sri Dakshinamurthy milk abhishekam

 Sri Dakshinamurthy Urchavar 
 Panchamukha Vinayagar on Simha vahana
  The three-tier Vimana 
---OM SHIVAYA NAMA---

Wednesday, 31 May 2017

Sri Othandeeswarar Temple / ஸ்ரீ ஒத்தாண்டேஸ்வரர் திருக்கோயில், திருமழிசை / Thirumazhisai / Thirumalisai, Tiruvallur District, Tamil Nadu

This Sri Othandeeswarar Temple at Thimazhisai is on the right side of the main road from Poonamallee to Thiruvallur. Thirumazhisai is the birthplace of Thirumazhisai Alvar, one of the 12 Alwars of Vaishnavism.



Moolavar    : Sri Othandeeswarar, Kaithantha Piran,
                   Manonukooleswarar,
Consort      : Sri Kulirntha Nayaki, Seethalambigai

Some of the important features of this temple are….
The temple faces east with a temple tank in front. The 5-tier Rajagopuram is on the south side. Balipeedam, dwajasthambam, and Rishabam with a mandapam are on the east side. Dwarapalakas are in front of the sanctum sanctorum. Moolavar is on a square avudayar. Somaskandar is on the back side of the moolavar. In the koshtam, Vinayagar, Dakshinamurthy, Mahavishnu, Brahma, and Durgai. 

In the inner prakaram, Chandran, Suriyan, Adhikara Nandhi, Nalvar, Vinayagar, Sri Valli Devasena Subramaniar, Chandikeswarar, Bairavar, Somaskandar, A Rishabam, facing the back side of moolavar, Natarajar, Rishabanayakar (Rishabanthigar), Natarajar, and Somaskandar.  

Ambal Kulirntha Nayaki is in a separate sannidhi in Maha mandapam facing south. Ambal is in a standing posture with abhaya varada hastam.

In the outer praharam, Sri Devaraja Ganapathi, Sri Gangatheswarar, Navagrahas, Valli Devasena Siva Subramaniar, and Shaniswarar.

Ambal, Natarajar, and Rishabanayagar Sannidhi Vimanas


ARCHITECTURE
The temple consists of the sanctum sanctorum, antarala, ardha mandapam, and Maha mandapam. The sanctum sanctorum is on a pada bandha adhistanam with jagathy, three patta kumudam, and pattikai. The bhitti starts with vedikai, and the pilasters are of Brahma kantha pilasters with kalasam, kudam, palakai, and vettu pothyal. The prastaram consists of valapi with lotus petals and kapotam with nasi kudus. The temple from adhistanam to prastaram was constructed with stone. The vimanam from the sanctum sanctorum to the sigaram was constructed in the Gajaprishta / Gajabirushta style. The superstructure / vimanam above the prastaram was constructed with bricks, and the vimanam is of 3 tiers. Stucco images of Shiva, Dakshinamurthy, Maha Vishnu, and Brahma are in tala and greeva koshtams.







HISTORY: 
Somaskandar is believed to be from the Pallava Period, and the temple was reconstructed during the Chola period. 11th-century Kulothunga Chozha-II period inscriptions are found on the adhistanam and Maha mandapam pillars. The latter rulers, Vijayanagara and Nayaka kings, also contributed towards the expansion of the temple.
 
சோழ அரசர் மூன்றாம் இராசராசனின் 12 ஆம் ஆட்சியாண்டு, பொயு 1228, ஒத்தாண்டீஸ்வரர் கோயில் வடக்குச் சுவரில் உள்ள கல்வெட்டு சபையாரால் நிலம் விற்றுக்கொடுக்கப்பட்டது. இறையிலியாக நிலம் வழங்கிய கொடை இடம் பெறுகிறது. தனி நபர் ஊரவையிடமிருந்து நிலம் வாங்கி இறையிலியாகக் கோயிலுக்கு அளித்துள்ளார் எனலாம். நான்கு எல்லைகள் விரிவாகக் கூறப்பட்டுள்ளன. புக்கதுறை வாய்க்கால் பெயர் உள்ளது. கால்வாய்க்குக் கரை அமைத்துள்ளனர்.
The Chōla King Rājarāja III’s 12th year of reign, 1228 CE, inscription on the north wall of the central shrine refers to the sale of land to a private person, namely Kumaran. The sabha remitted (tax-free) this land. Mentions Pukkadurai Väykkäl, Kõttur and 50 kuli land.

விஜய நகர அரசன் இரண்டாம் அரிஹரனின் கருவறை அதிட்டானம் குமுதப்படையின் வடக்கில் தொடங்கி மேற்கு, தெற்கு என நீண்டு செல்லும் ல்வெட்டு பெரும்பாலும் சிதைந்து விட்டது. மேலும் கற்கள் மாற்றிமாற்றி வைத்துத் திருப்பணி மேற்கொண்டதால் பல வரிகள் மட்டுமின்றி எழுத்துகளும் வேறுபடுகின்றன. சிறிய வடிவில் எழுத்துகள் தொடங்கி மிகப்பெரிய வடிவ எழுத்துகளாக அமைந்துள்ளன. ஒன்றுக்கு மேற்பட்ட சாசன இணைப்பாக உள்ளது. இறுதிப்பகுதி படிக்க முடியாதபடி சிதைந்து விட்டது.
The Vijayanagara dynasty, Ariyana-Udaiyār’d inscription on the sanctum sanctorum kumudam, which starts from north continues to south via west, is damaged and incomplete. The inscription is not on a single stone; it starts with small letters and ends with big letters. The inscription records a gift to the temple. of Ottāndīśvara Nāyanar at Tirumalisai.

பொயு 1390 ஆம் ஆண்டு விஜய நகர அரசு அரசன் இரண்டாம் அரிஹரனின், மேற்கு ஜகதியில் உள்ள கல்வெட்டு ஒத்தாண்டீஸ்வரர் கோயிலுக்கு வழங்கிய உபயம் கூறப்படுகிறது. இக்கல்வெட்டு ஒத்தாண்டீஸ்வரருக்கு நாற்பத்தெண்ணாயிரம் தெரு இருந்துள்ளது. கல்வெட்டு மிகவும் சிதைந்து கற்கள் மாற்றி மாற்றி உள்ளதால் முழுமையாக அறிய முடியவில்லை. அரியண்ண உடையார் காலத்தில் இருந்த ஒத்தாண்டீஸ்ரர் பெயர் சோழர் காலத்தில் அகத்தீஸ்வரமுடையார் என்றுள்ளது. எனவே இரண்டும் வெவ்வேறான கோயில்கள் என்றே கருதுகிறேன்.
In the 1390 CE, the Vijayanagara Dynasty Ariyana Udaiyār’s inscription on the jagathy is found damaged. The inscription mentions the temple Ottāndar and refers to the street called Narpattenņayira Peruntheru in agaram Tirumalisai.

முதலாம் குலோத்துங்க சோழனுடைய 45-ஆவது ஆட்சியாண்டு பொயு 1114, ஒத்தாண்டீஸ்வரர் கோயில் தூணில் உள்ள கல்வெட்டு, திருமழிசையான புக்கதுறை சதுர்வேதி மங்கலத்து திருவகத்தீஸ்வரமுடை மகாதேவர்க்கு அகரம் சேரகுலவல்லி சதுர்வேதி மங்கலத்தில் 10000 குழி நிலத்தினைச் செட்டிகள் வழங்கி உள்ளனர். மாங்காடு என்ற ஊர் உய்யகொண்ட சோழபுரமாகவும் இருந்துள்ளது. பத்தாயிரம் என்பது பன்னாயிரம் என்று கல்வெட்டில் உள்ளது. அகத்தீஸ்வரர் கோயிலே ஒத்தாண்டீஸ்வரர் கோயில் என்று தற்போது அழைப்பதாக அறிஞர் கருதுகின்றனர். திருநின்றவூர் முன்பு நின்றையூர் என வழங்கப்பட்டுள்ளது. கல்வெட்டில் கீழ்நின்றியூர் இருப்பதால் மேல்நின்றியூரும் இருந்திருக்க வேண்டும். செட்டிகள், மாயிலெட்டி ஆகிய வணிகர் கூறப்பட்டுள்ளனர்.
The Chōla king Kulõttunga I’s 45th year of reign, 1114 С.Е., inscription on a pillar records a gift of Agattiśvaramudaiya Mahādēvar at Agaram Chērakulavalli Chaturvēdimangalam by chettigal of Uyyakonda Cholapuram in Māngādu nādu, a subdivision of Kulõttunga Chõlavalanādu. Now Agattiśvaramudaiyār is called Ottandisvarar. The inscription also mentions Kilninravür village.

மூன்றாம் இராஜராஜனின் 16 ஆம் ஆட்சியாண்டு பொயு 1231, தூணில் உள்ள கல்வெட்டு, திருமழிசையாகிய அகரம் புக்கதுறை சதுர்வேதி மங்கலத்தில் உள்ள அகத்தீஸ்வரமுடைய நாயனார் கோயிலில் விளக்கு ஒன்று எரிக்க ஏற்பாடு செய்யப்பட்டது. விளக்கு வைத்தவர் 5000 காசு வழங்க, காசினைப் பெற்றுக்கொண்டு விளக்கு எரிக்க சம்மதித்த இருவர்பெயரும் காண்கிறோம்.
The Chōla king Rājarāja III’s 15th year of reign, С.Е.1231, inscription on a pillar records a gift of 5000 kasu money for a lamp in the temple of Agattīśvaramudaya Nayanār at Agaram Tirumalisai. The same was received, and two persons agreed to burn a lamp.

விஜய நகர அரசு? ஒத்தாண்டீஸ்வரர் கோயில் கருவறை மேற்கு ஜகதியில் உள்ள துண்டு கல்வெட்டில் இறுதிவரி மட்டுமே உள்ளது.
Vijayanagara King (?)’s inscription on the west side of the sanctum sanctorum: adhistanam jagathy; only the damaged, unfinished last line is visible.

Reference
தமிழ்நாட்டுக் கல்வெட்டுகள் தொகுதி - XXX,
திருவள்ளூர் மாவட்ட கல்வெட்டுகள் தொகுதி – II.

Even though the temple is under the control of the HR & CE department, the Senguntha Mudaliars community takes care of the temple maintenance.  

LEGENDS 
மூலவரின் பின்புறம் பரமசிவன் பார்வதியின் கல்யாண கோலம் வடிக்கப்பட்டு உள்ளது. இது போன்ற அமைப்பு, திருவேற்காடு, அச்சிறுபாக்கம் சிவன் கோபவில்களிலும் உள்ளது. இது கயிலாயத்தில் நடந்த சிவனுக்கும் பார்வதிக்கும் நடந்த கல்யாணகோலத்தை அகத்தியருக்கு இங்கு காட்டினார் என்று நம்பப்படுகின்றது.  

In the sanctum wall behind the Shiva Lingam relief of Shiva Parvati’s marriage is similar to the temples at Thiruverkadu and Achirupakkam. For the same reason, the story goes like this. During the marriage of Shiva and Parvati, all the Rishis and Devas assembled at Mount Kailash. Due to this, the north side of the earth went down, and the south came up. To balance this, Lord Shiva asked Agasthiyar to go south. In turn, he promised to give his Kalyana kolam to him whenever Agasthiyar wished.  

மூலவரின் மேல் ஒரு வெட்டுக்காயம் இருக்கின்றது. இதற்கு ஒரு சரித்திரமும் உள்ளது. அதன் படி இரண்டாம் குலோத்துங்க சோழன் திருமுல்லை வாயிலில் இருந்து யானை மீது திரும்பும் போது வழியை கொடிகள் மறைத்ததால் மன்னன் வாளால் வெட்டி வழியை உண்டாக்கினான் அப்போது அவனுடைய வாள் பூமியின் அடியில் உள்ள சிவலிங்கத்தின் மீது மோதி வெட்டு பட்டு இரத்தம் கசிந்தது. மன்னன் தான் பாவ காரியம் செய்து விட்டதாக நினைத்து தன் கையை வெட்டிக்கொண்டான். சிவபெருமான் குலோத்துங்க சோழன் முன் தோன்றி அவனுடைய பக்தியை மெச்சி மீண்டும் கைகளை வழங்கி அருளினார். அதனால் சிவன் கைதந்த பிரான் என அழைக்கப்படுகின்றார். 

As per another legend, Kulothunga Chozha II, while returning from Thirumullaivoyal on the elephant, the way was obstructed by the creepers. So the king cleared the way by cutting the creepers with his sword. At one place, blood appeared from the ground. On inspection, they found that the blood was coming from a Shiva Lingam. The King feels guilty of cutting the Shiva Lingam, and he cuts off his hand. Shiva appeared and appreciated his devotion and gave back his hand. A scar can be seen on the moolavar. Hence, Shiva is called Kaithantha Piran.

POOJAS AND CELEBRATIONS
Apart from regular poojas, special poojas are conducted on Vinayagar Chathurti, pradosam, Maha Shivaratri, Thai Poosam, New Year's, Thai Pongal, etc.

TEMPLE TIMINGS:
The temple will be kept open from 06.30 hrs to 11.30 hrs and from 16.30 hrs to 21.00 hrs

CONTACT DETAILS:
The temple officer in charge, Mr. Sivanantham, may be contacted for further details. The mobile number is +91 9841557775

HOW TO REACH:
The temple with the tank is on the main road from Poonamallee to Thiruvallur.
Private buses from Poonamallee to Thiruvallur pass through this place.
Government buses are available from various parts of the city.
The nearest Railway station is Thiruvallur/ Tiruvallur.

LOCATION OF THE TEMPLE:   CLICK HERE 


Navagrahas Sannidhi



 SOME OLD PHOTOGRAPHS
  
 



--- OM SHIVAYA NAMA ---

Tuesday, 30 May 2017

Sri Veetrirundha Perumal Temple, Thirumazhisai, Thiruvallur District, Tamil Nadu.

28th May 2017

After finishing darshan of Sri Jagannatha Perumal  at Thirumazhisai, local people guided me to  this temple also which is very old. This temple is about 500 meters from Sri Jagannatha Perumal Temple. Even-though it is claimed that the temple is very old, the antiquity was lost during renovations by fixing of tiles and concreting.

எனது அடுத்த பயணம் வீற்றிருந்த பெருமாள் கோவிலை நோக்கி. ஸ்ரீ ஜகன்னாத பெருமாள் கோவிலில் இருந்து சுமார் 500 மீட்டர் தூரத்தில் இருந்தது. பெருமாள் ஸ்ரீதேவி பூதேவியுடன் அமர்ந்த கோலத்தில். இத்தலத்தில் பிரம்மா, பிருகு, மார்கண்டேய மஹரிஷி அனைவருக்கும் அஷ்டலட்சுமியுடன் வீற்றிருந்த பெருமாளாக காட்சி கொடுக்கின்றார்.

பிரகாரத்தில் ஆஞ்சனேயர், சக்கரத்தாழ்வார், லக்ஷ்மிநரசிம்மர், ஆண்டாள், வேதாந்ததேசிகர், திருமழிசை பிரான், ஆழ்வார்கள் சன்னதிகள் இருக்கின்றது. கோவில் பழையது என்று கூற ஆதாரமான கல்வெட்டுக்கள் எதுவும் இல்லை. ஆனால் தஞ்சை சரசுவதி மகால் நூலகத்தில் இந்த கோவிலைப்பற்றி ஓலை சுவடிகள் இருப்பதாக கூறுகின்ரறனர்.

புராணத்தின் படி பிருகு மகரிஷிக்கும், மார்கண்டேய மகரிஷிக்கும் பூரியில் பாதி தரிசனம் மட்டும் விஷ்னு கொடுத்தார். முழு தரிசனமும் பூமியில் எந்த இடம் ஒரு நெல்மணி அளவு எடை அதிகமாக இருக்கின்றதோ அந்த இடத்தில் ஸ்ரீதேவி பூதேவியுடன் தரிசனம் கொடுப்பதாக கூறுகின்றார். பிரம்மா விஷ்னுவின் அறிவுரைப்படி திருமழிசையை கண்டு பிடிக்கின்றார் அதுதான் என்று. இங்கு தான் மகாவிஷ்னு அஷ்ட லட்ஷ்மிகளுடன் அமர்ந்த திருக்கோலத்தில் அருள் பாலிக்கின்றார். 

Moolavar : Sri Veetrirundha Perumal.
Thayar    : Sri Shenbagavalli

Some of the important features of this temple are...
The temple is facing east with a 5 tier Rajagopuram.  Balipeedam and dwajasthambam are immediately after the Rajagopuram.

In the prakaram sannadhi for, Anjaneyar – facing north ( it was believed that worshiping Anjaneyar will be relieved from debts, fever related deceases, obstacles for the marriage, etc.. )   Chakrathalwar, Lakshmi Narasimhar, Andal, Vedantha Desikar, Thirumazhisai Piran, and Alwars.

In koshtam Vishvaksenan, Vinayagar, Veetrirundha Perumal, Varadharaja Perumal, Kakkaathar, Vaishnavi. The moolavar Sri Veetrirundha Perumal is with Sridevi and Bhoodevi. It was believed that Brahma had the darshan of Ashta Lakshmis, in this temple.

As per the legend, Bhrigu and Markandeya Maharishi performed thabas  at Puri to get the blessings of Sri Mahavishnu. Mahavishnu gave dharshan hazily and shown only the half. When they asked for clear darshan, Mahavishnu told them that they could worship his full form at ‘Maheesara kshethram”. Bhrigu maharishi requested Brahma to show the place.  Lord Vishnu told to Brahma that, which place is at-least 1 grain of paddy weight  heavier than the other places is that  ‘Maheesara kshethram”.  Brahma identified the place as Thirumazhisai. Lord Vishnu with his consorts gave darshan in full form in sitting posture similar to Sri Jagannatha Perumal and ashta Lakshmi’s on his crown and by the sides  to Bhrigu and Markandeya maharishi.
  
There is no inscriptions found inside the temple. It was told that references can be seen in palm leaves available at Sarasvati Mahal Library at Thanjavur.

TEMPLE TIMINGS :
The temple will be kept opened between 07.00 Hrs to 11.00 Hrs and 17.00 hrs to 20.00 Hrs.

CONTACT DETAILS:
The temple can be contacted through mobile numbers 787193820 and 9884274327.

HOW TO REACH:
The temple is very close to Main road.
Buses both Govt and Private are available from Poonamallee, Thiruvallur and different parts of the city.

LOCATION:CLICK HERE  


---OM SHIVAYA NAMA---