Saturday, 20 May 2017

Sri Venugopalaswamy Temple / ஸ்ரீ வேணுகோபால சுவாமி கோயில், Sathyamangalam, Erode district, Tamil Nadu.

15th May 2017.
டணாயக்கன் கோட்டை மரபு நடையை முடிக்கும் போது மதியம் மணி 3 ஆகிவிட்டது. பின்பு பவுசியா இக்பால் ஏற்பாடு செய்து இருந்த மதிய உணவு உண்டு விட்டு மேற்கொண்டு என்ன செய்யலாம்  என்று ஆலோசித்தோம். டணாய்கன் கோட்டை ஸ்ரீ மாதவப்பெருமாள் கோயிலில் இருந்து எடுத்துச் செல்லப்பட்ட மூலவரையும் கருடத்தூணையும்  காணலாமா என்று யோசித்தோம். எங்கள் வழி நடத்துனரும் ஆர்வலருமான  திரு ராமசாமி அய்யா மிகுந்த நேரம் பிடிக்கும் என்று கூறினார். மேலும் அதற்குப் பதிலாக சத்தியமங்கலம் சென்று வரலாற்று முக்கியத்துவம் வாய்ந்த, மூன்று நிலைகளில் உள்ள பெருமாள் கோயிலைக் கண்டு விட்டு பின்பு கலைந்து செல்லலாம் என்று கூறினார். சிலர் நாங்கள் யானை தண்ணீர் குடிப்பதைக் காண வேண்டும் என்று கூறினர். எனக்கும் ஈரோட்டில் இருந்து சென்னை வர தொடர் வண்டியைப் பிடிக்க நேரம் இருக்காது என்பதால் திரு ராமசாமி அய்யா கூறிய யோசனைக்கு உடன்பட்டோம். சிலர் மட்டும் ஒருவண்டியில் யானையைக் காணச் சென்றனர் (அவர்களும் பார்க்க முடியவில்லை என்பது பின்பு தெரியவந்தது).


ஸ்ரீ வேணுகோபால சுவாமி கோயில்.
3 நிலை ராச கோபுரத்துடன்  கிழக்கு பார்த்த கோவில். கொங்கு நாட்டுக்கே உரிய கருடத்தூண் இங்கு இல்லை. உள்ளே நுழைந்த உடன் கொடிமரமும் பலிபீடமும் உள்ளது. பெருமாள் இங்கு மூன்று நிலைகளில் சேவை சாதிக்கின்றார். வேணுகோபால சுவாமியாக நின்ற நிலையிலும், லக்ஷ்மி நாராயணாராக அமர்ந்த நிலையிலும், அரங்கநாதராக கிடந்த நிலையிலும் அருள் பாலிக்கின்றார். திரு ராமசாமி அய்யா மாலிக்காபூர் படையெடுப்பின் போது ஸ்ரீரங்கம் உற்சவரும் நகைகளும் மதுரை, கன்னியாகுமரி, கேரளா, மைசூர் வழியாக வந்து இந்தக் கோவிலின் சுரங்க பாதை / பாதாள அறையில் பாதுகாப்பாக வைக்கப்பட்டு இருந்ததாகக் கூறினார். (ஆனால் கோயிலின் வலைதளத்தின் படி திப்பு சுல்தான் போர் காலங்களில் இந்த சுரங்க வழியை உபயோகப் படுத்தியதாக எழுதப்பட்டு இருக்கின்றது) மண்டபத்தூண்களில் பல சிற்பங்களுடன் திப்பு சுல்தானின் சிற்பமும் உள்ளது மேலும். திப்பு சுல்தானின் பொருள் காப்பாளர் வரி வசூலில் ஒருபகுதியை இக்கோயிலுக்கு கொடுத்ததாகவும், அதற்காக அவருடைய உருவத்தை செதுக்கியதாகவும் வலைத்தளத்தில் கூறப்பட்டு உள்ளது.   இது பற்றிய முக்கிய விபரங்கள் எதுவும் தெரியவில்லை.
  
After the Danaikan Kottai heritage walk, we had our packed lunch. It was 16.00 hrs when we completed our lunch. In the meantime, there was confusion about what to do next. Some wanted to see elephants (But they could not reach the spot is a different story), and many of us wished to visit the Perumal temple at Sathyamangalam. Initially thought of visiting the Bhavani Sagar Dam Perumal temple, where the original Perumal and Garudathoon of Sri Madhava Perumal Temple were shifted. Since it was getting late and I had to catch the train at Erode, I  decided to see Sri Venugopala Swamy Temple at Sathyamangalam  as per our guide  Mr Ramaswamy’s suggestion. At around 17.00 reached the temple. He explained the details of the temple.

Moolavar    : Sri Venugopalaswamy
Thayar       : Sri Kalyana Lakshmi.

Some of the important details are...
The temple faces east with a 3-tier Rajagopuram. The  Kongu Nadu special Garudathoon /Deepasthambham is not there in this temple. Balipeedam and Dwajasthambam are immediately after the Rajagopuram.

Perumal in this temple is in three different postures and is also called in three different names.  Sannadhis for Sri Venugopala Swamy, in standing posture,  Sri Lakshmi Narayana Perumal ( Thayar Lakshmi is on the lap of Perumal in a sitting posture, and Sri Ranganathar in reclining posture. In addition to this, sannidhis are for Aadhavan, Vishwaksena, Anjaneyar, Andal, Iyappan, and Chakkarathalwar.

HISTORY & INSCRIPTIONS
It was said that the temple is 1000 years old, without any inscriptions, and looks like an 11th-century temple.  On the main sanctum, wall markings are done for the koshtam, but the same was not done later. In the outer praharam, there is a Vamana statue with moon and sun on the top, which may be a periphery limit for the land donated to this temple.

It was also said that the Srirangam Ranganathar Urchavar was moved to this temple via Madurai, Kanyakumari, Kerala, and Mysore during the Malik Kafur invasion. Mr Ramaswamy said that the secret room/passage below the ground in the mandapam, where the Ranganathar idols were kept. (Bust as per the temple's website. Tipu Sultan used this secret passage during wartime.)   

The front mandapam has several bas-reliefs on the pillars; Tipu Sultan’s relief holding a parrot in his hand is also there. The exact background story is not known. As per the temple website, the treasurer of Tipu Sultan gave a portion of the tax collected to this temple.
    
 Secret passage  - Believed that Sri Ranganathar’s idol (Urchavar and the ornaments) was kept here during Malik Kafur’s invasion

 Believed to be Tipu Sultan’s relief 

THE TEMPLE TIMINGS:
The temple will be open from 06.00 hrs to 12.00 hrs, and from 17.00 hrs to 20.00 hrs.

CONTACT DETAILS:
The landline number is +91 4295  221899
email address: sathyvenugopalswamy@gmail.com
Temple website: Click here

HOW TO REACH:
About a km from the main bus stand.
Sathyamangalam is about 70 km from Coimbatore and 40 km from Mettupalayam.
Bus facilities are available from Mettupalayam, Erode, Coimbatore, etc.

LOCATION OF THE TEMPLE: CLICK HERE


 Perumal as Sri Venugopala Swamy in Standing Posture 

 Perumal as Lakshmi Narayanar – in sitting Posture 

 Perumal in Sayana Kolam as Ranganathar   


 relief of a lizard   


 Symbolic representation of solar and lunar eclipses   

 Symbolic representation of solar and lunar eclipses   

 Sarba mandalam relief  

Sarba / Naga bandha
 relief of 4 monkeys interlinked


 Vamana avatar of Perumal – a periphery limit stone for the land donated, till Chandran and Suriya exist 
---OM SHIVAYA NAMA--- 

Friday, 19 May 2017

Danaikan Fort / டணாய்கன் கோட்டை, Bhavani Sagar Dam, Sathyamangalam, Erode District, Tamil Nadu – A Heritage Walk.

 15th May 2017.
This heritage walk was carried out on 15th May 2017 after crossing many hurdles. The legends behind these walks are Mr. Sundaram, Mr. Ramasamy, Mr. Siva, Mr. Thenkongu Sadhasivan, and Mrs. Fozia Iqubal. Thanks to my co-participants, Mr. Srinivasan, Mr Raja, Mrs Sakthi Prakash, and Miss Tamilarasi. Mrs  Fowzia organised this Heritage walk and really we are very much thankful for her warm hospitality.

 The dilapidated  Sri Madhava Perumal temple 

When we planned to start our walk around 08.30 hrs from Sathyamangalam, the last batch was able to move only around 11.00 Hrs due to a vehicle problem. The bus strike also added more confusion to our walk. Dr. Thangavel from Erode helped 4 of us to reach Sathyamangalam in his car. After a lot of confusion in the route and driver,  at last, we reached the boating spot inside the Bhavani Sagar dam. By that time one batch of people already left for Danaikan Fort. Mr Ramasamy explained to us the details of the dilapidated Sri Madhava Perumal Temple, inscriptions, and the submerged fort with a cannon platform. It was a very pleasant sight to see the dam, hills on all sides, and the water canal inside the dam. It was around 15.00 hrs we had our lunch on the roadside and left for Sathyamangalam to see Sri Venugopala Swamy Temple. 

This  Danaikan Fort was constructed by Mathappa Dhanda Naikan, who worked as Captain under the Hoysala King Veera Ballala III, (1293–1342 CE), in Karnataka. Veera Vallalan was the son of Hoysala King Veerasomesuvaran (1234-264 CE). During his son Narasimhan III (1263–1292 CE) period,  Thanda Naikars ruled the Kundaluppet near Mysore. In the Thanda Naikars, Perumal Thanda Naikar worked under Narasimhan III  and  Veelavallalan III as an army Chief. These Thanda naikas used to call with titles like Irakutharaayan, SithakarakaNdan and Ottaikku mindaan.  They used to say proudly that they conquered Nilgiris.

Mathapa Thandanaikan constructed the Danaikan Fort during Veeravallalan’s rule (1263–1292 CE). Narasimhan III constructed a Shiva Temple in the name of his father Someswaran. This temple was submerged in the Bhavani Sagar Dam and an inscription is available in Bhavani Sagar Dam Temple. As per inscriptions, the Shiva Temple exists before the construction of the Danaikan Fort  (before 1292 CE). The Fort is fully submerged in the water and 4 sides of walls with cannon bases are visible at present. The dilapidated Madhava Perumal Temple now a little above the water level was built by Mathappa Thandanaikan’s son Keththaya Naikan in the name of his father. It was said that the original Moortham and Garudathoon / Deepasthambham were shifted to a perumal temple near Bhavani Sagar Dam.

தண்டநாயக்கன் கோட்டை, தண்டநாயக்கர்கள்
டணாயக்கன் கோட்டை மாதப்ப தண்டநாயக்கன் என்பவரால் கட்டப்பட்டது. இந்த தண்டநாயக்கர்கள் யார்? கருநாடகப் போசள (ஹொய்சள) அரசர்களில் வீரசோமேசுவரன் ஒருவன். இவனது ஆட்சிக்காலம் கி.பி. 1234- 1264 என்ன்றும் குறிப்புள்ளது. இவனது மகன் மூன்றாம் நரசிம்மன. இவனது ஆட்சிக்காலம் கிபி 1263 -1292. 

முன்னாளில் தெற்கணாம்பி என்னும் பெயரில் இருந்தது. அதன்  உட்பிரிவான பதிநான்கு நாட்டின் தலைவர்களாக இந்தத் தண்டநாயக்கர்கள் ஆட்சிசெய்தனர்.இவர்களில் பெருமாள் தண்ட நாயக்கன் என்பவர், மூன்றாம் நரசிம்மன். மூன்றாம் வீரவல்லாளன் ஆகியோரிடம் பிரதானி என்னும் முதன்மையான ஒரு பதவியில் பணியாற்றியவர். பெருமாள் நாயக்கனுக்கு இரு மகன்கள். ஒருவர் மாதப்ப தண்டநாயக்கன். மற்றவர் கேத்தய தண்டநாயக்கன். மாதப்ப தண்டநாயக்கன் மூன்றாம் வீரவல்லாளனின் படைத்தலைவனாக இருந்தவன். மூன்றாம் வீரவல்லாளனின் ஆட்சிக் காலம் கி.பி. 1293- 1342 மாதப்ப தண்ட நாயக்கனுக்கும் இரு மக்கள். ஒருவர் கேத்தய தண்ட நாயக்கன், சிற்றப்பனின் பெயர் கொண்டவர். மற்றவர் சிங்கய தண்டநாயக்கன். 

தண்டநாயக்கர்கள் முடிகுலய குலத்தைச் சேர்ந்தவர்கள். மோடகுலய குலம் என்றும் இக்குலத்தைச் சொல்வர். இவர்கள் தம் பெயருக்கு முன்னால் பல விருதுப்பெயர்களை வைத்துக்கொண்டனர். அவற்றுள் இம்மடி இராகுத்தராயன், சிதகரகண்டன் ஆகிய இரு பெயர்கள் முதன்மையானவை. ஒட்டைக்கு மிண்டான் என்னும் ஒரு விருதுப்பெயரும் கானப்படுகிறது. தண்டநாயக்கர்கள் தமிழகத்தின் நீலகிரியைக் கைப்பற்றியதாகப் பெருமை பேசுபவர்கள் என்னும் குறிப்பு உள்ளது. எனவே, நீலகிரிசாதார(ண)ன் என்னும் விருதுப்பெயரும் இவர்களுக்கு உண்டு.

மாதப்ப தண்டநாயக்கன் மூன்றாம் வீரவல்லாளன் காலத்தில் டணாயக்கன் கோட்டையை நிறுவினான். மூன்றாம் நரசிம்மன் (கி.பி. 1263-1292) தன் ஆட்சிக்காலத்தில் தன் தந்தை பெயரால் சோமேசுவரன் கோவிலைக்கட்டினான் என்று வரலாற்றுக் குறிப்பு கூறுகிறது. பவானிசாகர் அணைப்பகுதியில் மூழ்கிப்போன கோயில்களுள் இக்கோயிலும் ஒன்று எனக்கருதலாம். ஏனெனில், சோமேசுவரர் கோயில் என்னும் பெயருடைய கோயில் நீரில் மூழ்கிய செய்தி பவானி சாகர் அணைப்பகுதிக் கோயிலில் பொறிக்கப்பட்டுள்ளது. இச்செய்தியின் அடிப்படையில், டணாயக்கன் கோட்டையை மாதப்ப தண்டநாயக்கன் கட்டும்போதே அப்பகுதியில் சோமேசுவரர் கோயில் இருந்துள்ளது என்பதுபெறப்படுகிறது. எனவே, டணாயக்கன் கோட்டை கி.பி. 1292-ஆம் ஆண்டுக்குப் பின்னரே கட்டப்பட்டிருக்கவேண்டும். நாம் பார்த்த, நீரில் மூzழ்கிய கோட்டைக்கோயில் மாதப்ப தண்டநாயக்கனின் மகனான கேத்தய நாயக்கன் என்பவன் கட்டிய கோயிலாகும். தன் தந்தையின் பெயரால் மாதவப்பெருமாள் கோயில் என்று பெயர் சூட்டினான்.
நன்றி :திரு தென்கொங்கு சதாசிவம் அவர்கள்

LOCATION OF THE FORT: CLICK HERE

For More Photos:    CLICK HERE

  The dilapidated  Sri Madhava Perumal temple 

  The dilapidated  Sri Madhava Perumal temple 

  The dilapidated  Sri Madhava Perumal temple 

 The Vyyalavari of  Sri Madhava Perumal temple 






 The front mandapam of Sri Madhava Perumal temple 


 The sanctum of Sri Madhava Perumal temple 

  The dilapidated  rooftop of Sri Madhava Perumal temple 


Danaikan Fort that submerged in water

For More Photos: CLICK HERE
--- OM SHIVAYA NAMA---